Research Guides @ Fordham: Middle East Studies: Historical Surveys, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

General Historical Sources

Civilizations of the Ancient Near East by Jack M. Sasson (Editor)
Call Number: (LC,RH) Ref + DS57 .C55 1995. 4 vols.
New York, NY: Scribner, 1995.
A Concise History of the Middle East by Arthur Goldschmidt Jr.; Lawrence Davidson; Arthur Goldschmidt
Call Number: DS62 .G65 (multiple editions)
Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 2010.
(electronic edition is most recent)
Early history of the Middle East (The Cambridge Ancient History) by I. E. S. Edwards (Editor); C. J. Gadd (Editor); N. G. L. Hammond (Editor)
Call Number: (LC, RH) D57 .C27 V.1 PT.2 1971
Encyclopaedia of Islam (1st ed., 2nd ed, and Three) by Edited by Gudrun Krämer, Denis Matringe, John Nawas and Everett Rowson
Call Number: (RH) Ref. DS37.E5
Boston : Brill, 2007-
Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire by Gabor Agoston; Bruce Masters
Call Number: (RH) Ref DR486 .A375 2009
New York, NY: Facts On File, 2009
Medieval Islamic Civilization by Josef W. Meri; Jere L. Bacharach
Call Number: (RH) Ref DS36.85 .M434 2005
New York: Routledge, 2006
Middle East 101 : A Beginner's Guide for Deployers, Travelers, and Concerned Citizens by Youssef H. Aboul-Enein
Call Number: ebook (unlimited user)
Annapolis, Maryland : Naval Institute Press, 2019.
The Middle East: A Brief History of the Last 2,000 Years by Bernard Lewis
Call Number: (LC, RH)DS62 .L63 1995B
New York, N.Y.: Scribner, 1995

Middle Eastern History - World History Research Guide

Middle Eastern History - History (Countries and Regions of the World) Research Guide
This link will take you to the Middle Eastern History page on the History (Countries and Regions of the World) research guide.

Country or Ethnic Historical Sources

The A to Z of the Druzes by Samy Swayd
Call Number: (RH) Ref BL1695 .S93 2006 (older edition)
Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press, 2009.
Previously published as: Historical dictionary of the Druzes, 2006.
The A to Z of Turkey by Metin Heper
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref DR436 .H46 2010
Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2010
The Cambridge History of the Kurds by Hamit Bozarslan; Cengiz Gunes; Veli Yadirgi
Call Number: ebook
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2021.
Hezbollah: The Story of the Party of God: From Revolution to Institutionalization. by Eitan Azani
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks JQ1828.A98 H6225 2009
New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2009.
Historical Dictionary of Afghanistan by Ludwig Adamec
Call Number: DS356 .A27 2012
Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2012
Historical Dictionary of Ismailis by Farhad Daftary
Call Number: (RH) Ref BP195.I8 D323 2012
Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2012
Historical Dictionary of Israel by Bernard Reich; David H. Goldberg
Call Number: (RH) Ref DS126.5 .R38 and ebook
Lanham, Maryland : Rowman & Littlefield, [2016].
Historical Dictionary of Palestine by Ilan Pappe; Johnny Mansour
Call Number: (RH) Ref DS102.8.N397 2022
Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield, [2022].
Historical Dictionary of the Kurds by Michael M. Gunter
Call Number: (RH) Ref DS59.K86 G86 and ebook
Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield, [2018].
Historical Dictionary of Yemen by Charles Schmitz; Robert D. Burrowes
Call Number: (RH) Ref DS247.Y45 B87 and ebook
Lanham, Maryland : Rowman & Littlefield Publishing Group, Incorporated, 2017.
Israel: An Introduction by Barry Rubin
Call Number: (RH) DS126.5 .R77 2012 and ebook
New Haven: Yale University Press, 2012
Masters of the Pearl : A History of Qatar by Michael Quentin Morton
Call Number: ebook
London, UK : Reaktion Books Ltd, 2020.