Research Guides @ Fordham: Biological Sciences: Neuroscience

Neuroscience Reference Materials

Netter's Atlas of Neuroscience by David L. Felten; M. Kerry O'Banion; Mary E. Maida
Call Number: QM451 .F44 2016
Elsevier, 2016
Head and Neuroanatomy by Michael Schuenke; Lawrence Ross; Edward D. Lamperti; Markus Voll (Illustrator); Erik Schulte; Udo Schumacher
Call Number: QM535 .S37513 2007
Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme, 2007
Neuroscience by Mark F. Bear; Barry W. Connors; Michael A. Paradiso
Call Number: QP355.2 .B42 2016
Philadelphia : Wolters Kluwer, 2016
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: RC469 .D545 2013
Online Resource
Washington D.C. : American Psychiatric Association, 2013
The Cognitive Neuroscience of Mind by Michael S. Gazzaniga; Patricia A. Reuter-Lorenz (Editor); Kathleen Baynes (Editor); George R. Mangun (Editor); Elizabeth A. Phelps (Editor)
Online Resource
Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, 2010

Popular Works on Neuroscience

Zero to Birth by William A. Harris
Online Resource
Princeton, NJ : Princeton University Press, 2022
Behave by Robert M. Sapolsky
Call Number: QP351 .S27 2017
New York, New York : Penguin Press, 2017
The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat by Oliver Sacks
Call Number: RC351 .S23 1998
New York, NY : Simon & Schuster, 1998

Online Repositories, Data Sets, and Resources

APA Links to Data Sets and Repositories
Data sets and data repositories recommended by the American Psychological Association for use in psychological science research.
Neuroscience Information Framework
The Neuroscience Information Framework is a dynamic inventory of Web-based neuroscience resources: data, materials, and tools accessible via any computer connected to the Internet. An initiative of the NIH Blueprint for Neuroscience Research, NIF advances neuroscience research by enabling discovery and access to public research data and tools worldwide through an open source, networked environment.
Open Neuro
Open Neuro is a free and open platform for sharing MRI, MEG, EEG, iEEG, and ECoG data
NIH Data Sharing Repositories
A list of NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse.
NIH Blueprint for Neuroscience Research
The NIH Blueprint for Neuroscience Research aims to accelerate transformative discoveries in brain function in health, aging and disease. Blueprint is a collaborative framework that includes the NIH Office of the Director together with NIH Institutes and Centers that support research on the nervous system.
NIH BRAIN Initiative
The Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies Initiative is aimed at revolutionizing our understanding of the human brain. By accelerating the development and application of innovative technologies, researchers will be able to produce a revolutionary new dynamic picture of the brain that, for the first time, shows how individual cells and complex neural circuits interact in both time and space.

Neuroscience Societies

American Academy of Neurology
Founded in 1948, the AAN now represents more than 36,000 members and is dedicated to promoting the highest quality patient-centered care and enhancing member career satisfaction. They also publish Neurology.
American Neurological Association
The American Neurological Association is a professional society of academic neurologists and neuroscientists devoted to advancing the goals of academic neurology; to training and educating neurologists and other physicians in the neurologic sciences; and to expanding both our understanding of diseases of the nervous system and our ability to treat them.
APA Society for Behavioral Neuroscience and Comparative Psychology
Society for Behavioral Neuroscience and Comparative Psychology members are devoted to studying the biology of behavior. Their focus is on behavior and its relation to perception, learning, memory, cognition, motivation, and emotion.
Cognitive Neuroscience Society
The Cognitive Neuroscience Society (CNS) is committed to the development of mind and brain research aimed at investigating the psychological, computational, and neuroscientific bases of cognition.They publish the Journal of Cognitive Neuroscience.
International Brain Research Organization
The International Brain Research Organization (IBRO) is the global federation of neuroscience organizations that aims to promote and support neuroscience around the world through training, teaching, collaborative research, advocacy and outreach.
Neuroscience@NIH
The NIH is home to one of the largest neuroscience research centers in the world. Over 150 laboratories, originating from eleven different Institutes, conduct research in the basic, translational, and clinical neurosciences.This website represents an inter-institute effort to convey, on an NIH wide basis, the research being conducted in the neurosciences.
Society for Neuroscience
Society for Neuroscience (SfN) has more than 37,000 members in more than 95 countries. Guided by its mission and its values, the vision of the Society for Neuroscience (SfN) is to advance breakthrough discoveries in neuroscience and promote innovative translation of scientific advances to improve the health of people everywhere. They publish both JNeurosci and eNeuro.

Neuroscience Databases

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Critical evaluations of commercially available tests in education, psychology, business, and intelligence.
PsycARTICLES (APA) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full text articles from journals published by the APA. On EBSCOhost platform.
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and Indexing to serial and book literature in psychology since 1840. On EBSCOhost platform.
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, and other resources. MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed. Citations may include links to full-text content in PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). MEDLINE Citations are included in OneSearch. For more information, see NIH Resources Guide.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine NLM.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
From CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. Reference, substance, reaction and supplier content. Also includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and more. NEW USERS CLICK HERE TO REGISTER FOR PERSONAL ACCOUNT. ACCESS DOES NOT WORK USING VPN. USERS MUST GO TO THE SCIFINDER DATABASE LINK ABOVE AND AUTHENTICATE INTO FORDHAM NETWORK USING FORDHAM UN AND PW. THEN FOLLOW PROMPTS TO LOGIN WITH PERSONAL SCIFINDER UN/PW.
Remote users see more notes below.
REMOTE USERS: Must do the following to access full text.
Full Text Dropdown > View all Sources > Under In House Resources, click on Find Full Text. If content doesn't appear in window, select a different source in the sidebar.

Selected Neuroscience Journals

Acta Neuropathologica
Acta Neuropathologica publishes manuscripts dealing with disease mechanisms, general, experimental, comparative, and molecular pathology of the nervous tissue.
Years available: 1997 - Present
Behavioral and Brain Sciences
BBS is the internationally renowned journal with the innovative format known as Open Peer Commentary. Particularly significant and controversial pieces of work are published from researchers in any area of psychology, neuroscience, behavioural biology or cognitive science.
Years available: 1997 - Present
Brain, Behavior, and Immunity
Brain, Behavior, and Immunity, founded in 1987, is the official journal of the Psychoneuroimmunology Research Society (PNIRS). This innovative journal publishes peer-reviewed basic, experimental, and clinical studies dealing with behavioral, neural, endocrine, and immune system interactions in humans and animals.
Years available: 1993 - Present
Cognitive, Affective and Behavioral Neuroscience
Cognitive, Affective, & Behavioral Neuroscience publishes theoretical, review, and primary research articles concerned with behavior and brain processes in humans.
Years available: 2011 - 1 Year Ago
Journal of Neurochemistry
Journal of Neurochemistry continues to be a leading source for research into all aspects of neuroscience, with a particular focus on molecular and cellular aspects of the nervous system, and is devoted to the prompt publication of original findings of the highest scientific priority and value.
Years available: 1996 - Present
Journal of Neuropathology and Experimental Neurology
Journal of Neuropathology & Experimental Neurology is the official journal of the American Association of Neuropathologists, Inc. (AANP). The Journal publishes original articles on neuropathology and experimental neuroscience, book reviews, letters, and Association news.
Years available: 1996 - 2014; 2017 - 1 Year Ago
Neurobiology of Learning and Memory
Neurobiology of Learning and Memory publishes articles concerned with neural and behavioral plasticity, including learning and memory and related aspects of neural adaptation, at all levels of analysis from molecular biology to behavior.
Years available: 1995 - Present
Neuropsychologia
Neuropsychologia is an international interdisciplinary journal devoted to experimental and theoretical contributions that advance understanding of human cognition and behavior from a neuroscience perspective.
Years available: 2011 - Present
Neuroscience and Biobehavioral Reviews
The journal publishes original and significant review articles dealing with all aspects of neuroscience, where the relationship to the study of psychological processes and behavior is clearly established.
Years available: 2011 - Present

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Neuroscience

Library of Congress Call Numbers for Neuroscience topics:

BF1-940 Psychology
QM451-471 Anatomy - Nervous System
QP361-430 Physiology - Nervous System
RC321-571 Neurology and Psychiatry, Neuropsychiatry
- RC346-429 Neurology, Diseases of the Nervous System (including speech disorders)

Library of Congress Subject Headings for Neuroscience topics:

Neurosciences
- Computational neuroscience
- Neuroanthropology
- Neurobiology
- Neurochemistry
- Neurogenetics
- Neuroimmunology
- Neuropharmacology
- Neurotechnology (Bioengineering)

Note: Not an exhaustive list of subject headings. For more information, check the LOC website.

Biological Sciences: Neuroscience