Research Guides @ Fordham: American Rural Studies: Databases & E-Journals

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
Accessible Archives (SEE History Commons 8/30/24)
Diverse primary source material from books, newspapers and periodicals with views of American history and culture during the 19th century. Records are available in a user-friendly online environment.
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text resource consisting of over 12,800 local, regional and international sources. Updated daily, it offers primary source information on today's issues and events from newspapers/newswires, transcripts, video, the web, and blogs.
Agricola (SEE National Agricultural Library)
The collections of the USDA's National Agricultural Library, as well as primary source for access to information on agriculture and allied disciplines.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
History of U.S. and Canada containing nearly 2,000 journals since 1910.
America's Historical Newspapers, Early American Series 1-5 (1690-1922) This link opens in a new window
From Readex. Hundreds of newspapers chronicling the evolution of American history, culture and daily life from 1690-1922.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
"An open network of online resources that draw on the nation's living heritage from libraries, universities, archives, and museums." Includes items from the Government Printing Office and the Medical Heritage Library.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American History.
Problems have been reported with Chrome. For best results, use Firefox or Edge. Clear cache to refresh screen view.
Library of Congress (LOC) This link opens in a new window
Main U.S. research arm for historical and educational content. Holds over 150 million items covering all aspects of American history and culture.
Making of America, books This link opens in a new window
Digital primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection includes the subject areas of education, psychology, history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Making of America, journals and monographs (Cornell University) This link opens in a new window
Now hosted on Hathi Trust, the Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Music and Dance Online: American Music This link opens in a new window
Provides a suite of online audio recordings to support the teaching of American musical traditions including country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B and more.
New York State Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The project provides online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. Created and administered by the Northern NY Library Network in partnership with the Empire State Library Network.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
On ProQuest's platform. Offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection and summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Data is downloadable to MS Excel.
U.S. Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
Official site for data published by the US Census Bureau. Contains content previously available from American FactFinder including population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas.

E-Journals

A selection of journals covering Rural Studies available for access online through Fordham Libraries. This list is neither definitive nor exhaustive. Be sure to check the catalog for related journals by navigating to the e-journals search bar and using the keyword "rural." NOTE: These e-journals may focus on global rural issues and are not restricted in their scope to Rural America.

American Rural Studies: Databases & E-Journals

Databases and E-Journals

Databases

E-Journals

Reference & Instruction Department