Research Guides @ Fordham: Poetry: Poets

Library Resources

Library databases

Contemporary Authors Online (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on thousands of modern poets, novelists, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters.
Gale Literature Platform Search This link opens in a new window
Gale's literature platform for cross-searching: Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers Online and Twayne's Authors on GVRL. Click on 'What's Inside' to find series title and available editions.
PEN America Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Online archive of more than 1500 hours of audio and video recordings featuring the world’s foremost writers, intellectuals, and artists in candid and often heated discourse about the most relevant cultural and political issues of our times. Dates back to 1966.

Searching for books in the library

Click on the Classic Library Catalog tab and search in the Subject box to get books about poets, as well as poetry collections by that person.

Suggested subject terms:

[Poet's Name] (e.g., Emily Dickinson, Susan Howe, Nikki Giovanni, William Carlos Williams, Terrence Hayes, Ocean Vuong)

[Poetry Schools or Eras] (e.g. New York School Poetry

Poetry
American Poetry
British Poetry
Epic Poetry
Experimental Poetry
Poetry, Modern
Poetry Translations

Poetry organizations, universities, and private enthusiasts curate websites dedicated to some well-known poets. Examples include:

Some contemporary poets have personal websites that link to their work online.

You can also search for individual poets on the following sites:

Academy of American Poets
Highlights contemporary and historical poets, often featuring one or more poems.
PennSound
Free, downloadable recordings of poets reading their own and others' works. From the University of Pennsylvania.
Electronic Poetry Center
Online collection of poetry resources including poems, audio recordings, small magazines, and more. From the University at Buffalo.
UbuWeb
Wide variety of avant-garde art, including contemporary poetry, visual poetry, and conceptual writing.
Poetry Foundation
Poems, audio recordings, information on poets, and more. From the publishers of Poetry Magazine.
The Poetry Archive
Includes full text and audio recordings of more, with a strength in poetry from the United Kingdom.