Skip to main content

Access Services & Borrowing Privileges: Borrowing at Fordham

Library Checkouts (Updated 8/26/20)

Automatic updates to due dates are no longer available since the Libraries are reopening on August 26, 2020. Please request renewals online or via email - univlib@fordham.edu. Students must be registered for Fall 2020 in order to renew library materials beyond August 25, 2020. 
Please contact us at univlib@fordham.edu with any questions about your library account.

Placing Holds

Patrons with active library accounts may Place Holds on library materials, up to a maximum of 5 items--either to be transferred between Fordham's libraries or for convenient, contactless pickup at the owning campus library. These requests can be made by:

  • using the "Place Hold" function in the Fordham Library Catalog 
  • sending an email to univlib@fordham.edu, providing the title, author and call number of the item being requested, and the desired campus pickup library

Image: Placing a Hold Online how-to guide; click image for link.

If the item is available in the collection and found on the shelves, every effort will be made to have it available for pickup within 3 - 5 business days for Walsh items, and 7 - 10 days for Quinn and Westchester items (to allow for safe transferring between campuses), pending the libraries' continued operations and staff availability. A notification email will be sent to your Fordham email account when the item is available for pickup at the chosen pickup library.

Items will remain on hold only for 5 business days before being quarantined and then returned to the stacks. If you cannot pickup your item within 5 business days, please email univlib@fordham.edu to request an alternate arrangement. 

Borrowing Privileges by Patron Profile

General Collections
Full-time faculty - academic year (books due the Friday before University Commencement)
Part-time adjunct faculty - semester (books due the last day of scheduled classes)

Audio/Visual Materials
CDs, DVDs and VHS cassettes: 5 days
Books with CD-ROMs (available in Walsh Library EIC): 28 days

Reserve Materials
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Walsh Library EIC): 4 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Quinn Library A/V Room): 2 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available at Fordham Westchester Library Circulation Desk): 2 hours
Books on Reserve at all campus libraries: 2 hours

General Collections
University administrators - academic year (books due the Friday before University Commencement)
University staff members - 28 days

Audio/Visual Materials
CDs, DVDs and VHS cassettes: 5 days
Books with CD-ROMs (available in Walsh Library EIC): 28 days

Reserve Materials
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Walsh Library EIC): 4 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Quinn Library A/V Room): 2 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available at Fordham Westchester Library Circulation Desk): 2 hours
Books on Reserve at all campus libraries: 2 hours

General Collections
Doctoral students - semester (books due after exams conclude)
Graduate students - semester (books due after exams conclude)

Audio/Visual Materials
CDs, DVDs and VHS cassettes: 5 days
Books with CD-ROMs (available in Walsh Library EIC): 28 days

Reserve Materials
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Walsh Library EIC): 4 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Quinn Library A/V Room): 2 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available at Fordham Westchester Library Circulation Desk): 2 hours
Books on Reserve at all campus libraries: 2 hours

General Collections
Undergraduate students - 28 days

Audio/Visual Materials
CDs, DVDs and VHS cassettes: 5 days
Books with CD-ROMs (available in Walsh Library EIC): 28 days

Reserve Materials
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Walsh Library EIC): 4 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Quinn Library A/V Room): 2 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available at Fordham Westchester Library Circulation Desk): 2 hours
Books on Reserve at all campus libraries: 2 hours

Alumni borrowing is currently suspended. 

General Collections
Alumni - 28 days
(Note: Alumni borrowing privileges must be purchased for an annual fee of $100.)

Audio/Visual Materials
CDs, DVDs and VHS cassettes: 5 days
Books with CD-ROMs (available in Walsh Library EIC): 28 days

Reserve Materials
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Walsh Library EIC): 4 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Quinn Library A/V Room): 2 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available at Fordham Westchester Library Circulation Desk): 2 hours
Books on Reserve at all campus libraries: 2 hours

Graduate Assistants or other authorized users can obtain direct borrowing privileges on the account of the faculty member or administrator for whom they are working on a semester or an academic year basis.

Please obtain and submit to the Circulation Desk at any campus library written permission on department letterhead from the person granting borrowing privileges, and please specify the start and end dates for this arrangement.

Since library accounts are private, library staff cannot checkout materials on another user's account without written permission!

Faculty members and administrators granting privileges to their graduate assistants are reminded to check their accounts frequently to ensure accuracy since they are responsible for any materials on their accounts at the end of the academic year.

Visiting, Teaching, and Research Fellows receiving appointments at the University have the equivalent of faculty borrowing privileges during their stay at Fordham.

To have a Fordham library account created, please complete the Visitor Form for Fellows and submit it to the Circulation Desk at your campus library. Please have your Guest Fordham ID card with you (or a valid photo ID), along with your appointment letter on University letterhead.

Note: If the assignment of a study carrel at the Walsh Library is included in your appointment letter, please visit the Administration Office (Room 219) between 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday.

Spouses of current faculty members and administrators of Fordham University are eligible for privileges at the University Libraries.

To have a faculty spouse account created, please complete the Faculty Spouse Form and visit the Circulation or Library Services Desk at any campus library with a valid photo ID. The current Fordham faculty member or administrator must be present at the time of account creation.

Did You Know?

Self-check kiosks are available for your convenience whenever the Libraries are open!

Quinn Library Kiosk: In the First Floor Learning Commons.

Walsh Library Kiosk: Across from the Circulation & Reserves Desk (First Floor Atrium).
Photo courtesy of Fordham University Libraries

Questions?

Questions about your library account?

Contact your campus library Circulation Desk:

  • via e-mail: univlib@fordham.edu
  • by calling:
    • RH: 718-817-5109
    • LC: 212-636-6062
    • FW: 914-367-3060
  • by visiting the Circulation or Library Services Desk in person

Note: Library notices regarding due dates, recalls, hold pickups, fines, overdues, and checkout receipts will be sent to your Fordham email account.

Additional Services & Borrowing Information for All Patrons

Loans can be renewed up to three times if no one else has requested the book. All loans are subject to recall after 14 days.

Please note: In order to renew materials at the end of the semester, students must be registered for courses and adjunct faculty must have a teaching assignment at the University for a subsequent semester.

Renew on or before the due date by:

  • logging into My Account
  • sending an email to univlib@fordham.edu
  • visiting any campus library Circulation Desk in person
  • calling:
    • RH: 718-817-5109
    • LC: 212-636-6062
    • FW: 914-367-3060

A/V and EIC materials cannot be renewed.

Books checked out from the Library can be recalled after 14 days if another copy is not available at the Fordham Libraries. Recalls can be processed by:

  • sending an email to univlib@fordham.edu, providing the title, author and call number of the item being recalled, and the campus pickup library
  • visiting any campus library Circulation Desk in person
  • calling:
    • RH: 718-817-5109
    • LC: 212-636-6062
    • FW: 914-367-3060

Recall notices are sent directly to your Fordham e-mail account and indicate the adjusted due date for the recalled book. Items returned after the adjusted due date are subject to a recall overdue fine of $0.10 per day. The patron requesting the recall will be notified via e-mail as soon as the item has been returned.

Please note: Recalled items can be returned to any of the three campus libraries in order to fulfill the recall request.

While every effort is made by the Fordham Libraries to retrieve recalled items, patrons may want to explore alternative options since we cannot guarantee the timely return of the materials. In time-sensitive situations, please consider requesting the items from a library outside Fordham University through our Interlibrary Loan service or by taking advantage of our access agreements with other library systems for on-site use of their materials.

Books in general collections:  $0.10 per day
Overdue recall:  $0.10 per day after adjusted recall due date
Reserve books: $5.00 per day
Reserve Audio/Visual Materials: $5.00 per day, per disc/cassette tape
Non-Reserve Audio/Visual Materials: $1.00 per day, per disc/cassette tape
Fordham Dissertations (print): $5.00 per day

The Fordham University Libraries assess a replacement fee for any borrowed item that is lost or badly damaged from the collection. The following replacement fee schedule applies to all circulating items in the collection:

Books: $75.00
DVDs: $55.00
VHS cassette tapes: $55.00
Audio CDs: $45.00
CD-ROMs: $250.00
Replacement fees may be paid at any Circulation Desk; cash or check made payable to "Fordham University Libraries" are accepted. Checks must include address and phone number.

In lieu of paying a separate replacement fee, patrons are allowed to replace a lost item with a new copy. Replacement copies must be:

  • in new, or like new, condition
  • the same edition and format as the original lost item
  • without markings, underlining, highlighting, other forms of marginalia, or dog-eared pages

Please note that ex-library copies are not acceptable as replacements for lost Fordham items. Under certain circumstances, a newer edition of a lost item may be accepted with library staff approval in advance.

The Fordham University Libraries are under no obligation to accept a replacement copy that does not meet the Libraries' standards. Replacement copies not deemed acceptable will be refused and returned after review, and patrons will remain responsible for the replacement fees on their library accounts.

Replacement copies may be sent directly to any of the addresses listed below. Please include your name, email, and, if possible, phone number on any shipments to the Libraries.

  • Fordham University, Walsh Library, Circ Dept., 441 E. Fordham Rd., Bronx, NY 10458
  • Fordham University, Quinn Library, Circ Dept., 140 W. 62nd St., New York, NY 10023
  • Fordham University, Westchester Library, Circ Dept., 400 Westchester Ave., West Harrison, NY 10604

Books with a publication date of 1999 or earlier with a home library of Lincoln Center are shelved in QuinnX.

To obtain needed materials from QuinnX, place holds on the items in the Fordham Library Catalog or see a library staff member for assistance.

Circulation & Reserve Departments

Circulation & Reserve Departments
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-5109  ♦  718-817-3578
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6062  ♦  212-636-6061
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3060  ♦  914-367-3061

univlib@fordham.edu   ♦   intercampus@fordham.edu   ♦   libraryreserve@fordham.edu