Skip to main content

Alumni Library Services: Borrowing Privileges

Borrowing Privileges

Aerial view of Commencement in front of Keating Hall circa 1940.

Aerial view of commencement ceremony in front of Keating Hall, circa 1940. From the Fordham University Archives & Special Collections.

Fordham alumni with a valid Ram Pass (available through Forever Fordham) may obtain borrowing privileges at one of Fordham University's Libraries--Walsh, Quinn, or Westchester--for an annual fee of $100, payable by cash, check or money order only. Please inquire at the Circulation or Library Services desks at any of the listed libraries or bring an already completed form.

When submitting your form you will need:

  • A valid Ram Pass
  • Current address
  • Phone number
  • Email address
  • Check (made out to Fordham University Libraries), cash, or a money order

Benefits

In addition to reading and access privileges, alumni who obtain borrowing privileges are entitled to the following:

  • Each patron is entitled to check out 10 items (books, DVDs, CDs, VHS tapes, etc.) at a given time
  • Patrons may place holds on items from other campus libraries through their online account
  • Patrons may renew their books up to three times in their online account

Alumni Borrowing Privileges

General Collections
Full-time faculty - academic year (books due the Friday before University Commencement)
Part-time adjunct faculty - semester (books due the last day of scheduled classes)

Audio/Visual Materials
CDs, DVDs and VHS cassettes: 5 days
Books with CD-ROMs (available in Walsh Library EIC): 28 days

Reserve Materials
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Walsh Library EIC): 4 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Quinn Library A/V Room): 2 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available at Fordham Westchester Library Circulation Desk): 2 hours
Books on Reserve at all campus libraries: 2 hours

General Collections
University administrators - academic year (books due the Friday before University Commencement)
University staff members - 28 days

Audio/Visual Materials
CDs, DVDs and VHS cassettes: 5 days
Books with CD-ROMs (available in Walsh Library EIC): 28 days

Reserve Materials
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Walsh Library EIC): 4 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Quinn Library A/V Room): 2 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available at Fordham Westchester Library Circulation Desk): 2 hours
Books on Reserve at all campus libraries: 2 hours

General Collections
Doctoral students - semester (books due after exams conclude)
Graduate students - semester (books due after exams conclude)

Audio/Visual Materials
CDs, DVDs and VHS cassettes: 5 days
Books with CD-ROMs (available in Walsh Library EIC): 28 days

Reserve Materials
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Walsh Library EIC): 4 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Quinn Library A/V Room): 2 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available at Fordham Westchester Library Circulation Desk): 2 hours
Books on Reserve at all campus libraries: 2 hours

General Collections
Undergraduate students - 28 days

Audio/Visual Materials
CDs, DVDs and VHS cassettes: 5 days
Books with CD-ROMs (available in Walsh Library EIC): 28 days

Reserve Materials
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Walsh Library EIC): 4 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Quinn Library A/V Room): 2 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available at Fordham Westchester Library Circulation Desk): 2 hours
Books on Reserve at all campus libraries: 2 hours

Alumni borrowing is currently suspended. 

General Collections
Alumni - 28 days
(Note: Alumni borrowing privileges must be purchased for an annual fee of $100.)

Audio/Visual Materials
CDs, DVDs and VHS cassettes: 5 days
Books with CD-ROMs (available in Walsh Library EIC): 28 days

Reserve Materials
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Walsh Library EIC): 4 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available in Quinn Library A/V Room): 2 hours
DVDs and VHS cassettes (available at Fordham Westchester Library Circulation Desk): 2 hours
Books on Reserve at all campus libraries: 2 hours

Graduate Assistants or other authorized users can obtain direct borrowing privileges on the account of the faculty member or administrator for whom they are working on a semester or an academic year basis.

Please obtain and submit to the Circulation Desk at any campus library written permission on department letterhead from the person granting borrowing privileges, and please specify the start and end dates for this arrangement.

Since library accounts are private, library staff cannot checkout materials on another user's account without written permission!

Faculty members and administrators granting privileges to their graduate assistants are reminded to check their accounts frequently to ensure accuracy since they are responsible for any materials on their accounts at the end of the academic year.

Visiting, Teaching, and Research Fellows receiving appointments at the University have the equivalent of faculty borrowing privileges during their stay at Fordham.

To have a Fordham library account created, please complete the Visitor Form for Fellows and submit it to the Circulation Desk at your campus library. Please have your Guest Fordham ID card with you (or a valid photo ID), along with your appointment letter on University letterhead.

Note: If the assignment of a study carrel at the Walsh Library is included in your appointment letter, please visit the Administration Office (Room 219) between 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday.

Spouses of current faculty members and administrators of Fordham University are eligible for privileges at the University Libraries.

To have a faculty spouse account created, please complete the Faculty Spouse Form and visit the Circulation or Library Services Desk at any campus library with a valid photo ID. The current Fordham faculty member or administrator must be present at the time of account creation.

My Account Features

Your can access your library account online for the following:

  • Review your list of items checked out and the due dates for your checkouts
  • Edit your User PIN at any time
  • Renew your materials online (up to three times)

To access your library account from the Library homepage, follow these steps: 

  • Hover over "My Accounts" in the top left corner and select "Library"
  • Click on "Review My Account" to log in
  • Log in using your Fordham ID number or barcode on your Ram Pass as your username and "changeme" as your PIN

Don't forget to log out once you've finished reviewing your account!

Restrictions

Due to vendor and technology restrictions, alumni do not have access to the following services even after obtaining borrowing privileges:

  • Interlibrary Loan Service
  • Remote access to databases
  • ARES Course Reserves
  • EndNote*
  • VDI Computers**

*EndNote software accounts will be deactivated upon graduation, and to continue use of the software alumni will be asked to pay for and enter a product key. The cloud-based EndNote Basic is free and still available for all users.  Alumni should sync all bibliographic records to the free EndNote Basic version before graduating to ensure that bibliographic content is not lost.

**VDI Computers are available with a guest login. See Technology for more information.

Placing Holds

To request books from the online Library Catalog to be set aside for you, follow these steps: 

  • Visit the library homepage: https://www.fordham.edu/library
  • Click on the Library Catalog* tab to begin a search
  • Select the item you would like to borrow from the search results and then click "Place a Hold" (underneath the cover image on left of the record)
  • Log in using your Fordham ID number or barcode on your Ram Pass as your username and "changeme" as your password
  • Choose the pickup library from the drop-down menu and then click "Place Hold" to complete the request

* Hold requests cannot be placed directly in OneSearch, so please use the online Library Catalog for these requests. 

Don't forget to log out of the account once you've finished requesting items!

Questions?

Questions about your library account?

Contact your campus library Circulation Desk:

  • via e-mail: univlib@fordham.edu
  • by calling:
    • RH: 718-817-5109
    • LC: 212-636-6062
    • FW: 914-367-3060
  • by visiting the Circulation or Library Services Desk in person

Note: Library notices regarding due dates, recalls, hold pickups, fines, overdues, and checkout receipts will be sent to your Fordham email account.

Circulation & Reserve Departments

Circulation & Reserve Departments
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-5109  ♦  718-817-3578
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6062  ♦  212-636-6061
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3060  ♦  914-367-3061

univlib@fordham.edu   ♦   intercampus@fordham.edu   ♦   libraryreserve@fordham.edu