Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Visit AccessHelp, where you'll find relevant information on all aspects of accessing Library e-resources remotely.
- Most resources provide remote access via automatic IP authentication with your AccessIT ID. You will be prompted to enter this information.
- Some resources will indicate whether a username/password login is required.
- Remote access to e-resources for Alumni is not supported.
- If a journal is not accessible remotely but is available in our print collection, submit an article request to our Document Delivery service.
Specific Electronic Journal Search
Fordham Library Databases in Philosophy
Covering scholarly literature originating from 1940 to the present, the Index provides citations to books and over 300 journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields, covering aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics; it is also a rich source of material on the philosophy of various disciplines, such as education, history, law, religion, and science.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Features more than 2000 scholarly articles on such widely disparate topics as Aristotle, Panentheism, the French Revolution, magic, and cloning. Vast in scope, this resource is also highly accessible and thoroughly cross-referenced; additionally, it features highlights of its most requested articles as well as editorially reviewed links to other sites and resources on the Web. REP Online is an excellent resource for topical overviews accompanied by selected bibliographies for continued study.
SAGE Research Methods Online
New platform with a multimedia research experience! Explore research methods and concepts to help design research projects. Can be used across many disciplines. Use Chrome or Firefox for Best Results.
Additional useful Databases
Academic Search Complete
Designed especially for academic institutions, ASC is currently the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. Disciplines covered include humanities, social sciences, arts and literature, and languages and linguistics.
American Periodicals (ProQuest)
Full text of over 1,500 journals published between 1740 and 1940.
Humanities International Index
Comprehensive database covering over 2000 journals, books and other important reference sources.
JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS & JOURNALS) - ENDS 6/30/21
Collection of full text academic journals from volume 1, number 1. Narrow your search to a Philosophy-related them, e.g., "epistemology" or "Schopenhauer."
Oxford Reference Premium
Over 300 dictionaries, encyclopedias and subject reference books published by Oxford University Press.
Periodicals Index Online (ProQuest Platform)
Database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Full text of hundreds of academic journals including current issues. Limit search by selecting Philosophy from the list at the right.
ProQuest Research Library
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.