Skip to Main Content

Sociology: Access Issues

Useful information and Fordham library resources in sociology; Librarian David Vassar, Editor.

ALERTS TO ALL LIBRARY USERS!

ALERTS TO ALL LIBRARY USERS!

  • Browsers are adding privacy & security settings impacting access to library e-resources and "find full text" at many institutions.
    • If you have a problem with one browser try a different one (Chrome, Firefox, Edge); MAC users should try Safari first.
  • Fordham subscribes to many e-resources, but the library might not have access to all content within a database.
    • Be sure to read any notes listed below the databases link and also next to the links in the E-Journals tab.
    • When available, use the facet "content we have access to" or something similar to limit search results.
  • Large Open Access databases such as DOAJ and DOAB are sometimes inaccurate and the content may not be fully OA.
  • Some e-journals contain hybrid content, meaning some articles are freely available and some are not. Check icons if available.
  • Many issues that have been reported have workarounds. Always check below for known issues, self-help tips, and remote access info.

RESOURCES WITH NO LOGIN REQUIRED

Quick Self-Help Tips for Access Problems

  • Start your search at the Library Homepage (https://www.fordham.edu/resources/libraries).
  • When encountering problems, start by clearing History / Cache / Cookies (Library News Blog for Browser-Specific Directions).
  • If you have a problem with one browser try a different one (Chrome, Firefox, Edge); MAC users should try Safari first.
    • NOTE: Browsers are increasing privacy and security measures, which may cause access issues. If one browser doesn't work with a specific resource, try another browser. 
  • Make sure Cookies and Pop-ups are enabled and allow trusted database sites.
  • Be aware of any notes provided for additional instructions.
  • Some Internet monitoring / blocking programs, browser extensions, software, ad blockers, browser VPNs, and private windows may not be fully compatible with the library's electronic resources. Disable and try accessing the e-resource again.
  • If you have installed a citation browser extension such as Zotero, this could possibly cause a reloading loop that may trigger a temporary block by a provider. First you should update to the latest extension / connector version, then clear cache, try another browser, and / or disable the extension if necessary. 
    • See box below to link out to instructions on updating the Zotero browser extension / connector

Zotero Extension / Connector Update Instructions

decorative Zotero’s browser connectors have been creating access issues for researchers at many academic libraries. Use these instructions to check your browser connector to make sure you have the most up to date version.

Best Practices

  • Use a fully featured web browser that has been updated to the most recent version.
  • Update Adobe Acrobat Reader for PDF files.
  • Protect your computer. Use virus protection software, firewalls, and adware / spyware protection software.

Remote Access Information

  • Most resources provide remote access via automatic IP authentication with your Fordham Username / Password (formerly AccessIT ID). You will be prompted to enter this information. Make sure you are starting from the library home page. 
  • Some resources will indicate if a username / password login is required.
  • The use of browser VPNs that default to multiple foreign IPs in a day could cause the remote authentication security feature to automatically block your remote access. Choose United States as your preferred virtual location within the VPN extension.  
  • Remote access to e-resources for Alumni is not supported. Consult the Open Access Resources that lists resources open to all, and the Alumni Library Services research guide for additional info. 
  • See attached file below for list of titles with no remote access. If a resource cannot be accessed remotely but is available in our print collection, submit an article request to Document Delivery service.

Contacts For Additional Help

IT Customer Care for computer issues; Fordham Username / Password (formerly AccessIT ID) login problems; or issues with MFA (Multi Factor Authentication). IMPORTANT NOTE: IT call center available 24 hours for issues related to MFA, WiFi, and Fordham Username / Password (formerly AccessIT ID) -- when prompted press 3 for after hours support. See Technology Support for details.

Contact:

718-817-3999 Or HelpIT@fordham.edu Or IT Service Portal via Tech Help Page in your Fordham Portal (formerly My.Fordham)

Library E-resources Department if you cannot access a specific electronic resource, whether on campus or remote, after successful login with Fordham Username / Password (formerly AccessIT ID). Example: an error message or login box appears on the homepage of an electronic journal or database.

Contact:

Lynn Parliman at 718-817-3531 | parliman@fordham.edu

OR

Luisa Porretta at 718-817-3583 | porretta@fordham.edu

Library Reference Department for assistance with search strategies or research guides.

Contact:

Call Reference Desk at Rose Hill (718-817-3586), Lincoln Center (212-636-6050) or Westchester (914-367-3061).

Or use

KNOWN ISSUES

HUMANITIES E-BOOK COLLECTION (ACLS)

3/1/24. The Fulcrum platform will be unavailable during scheduled maintenance on Friday 3/1 between 5:00-8:00pm EST.

EBSCO DATABASES

3/8-3/10/24. EBSCO will be performing scheduled maintenance on the systems that manage EBSCO databases, which may cause slight performance delays. Maintenance will begin at 12:00pm EST on Friday 3/8 and end by 6:00pm EST Sunday 3/10. 

ONGOING

ALEXANDER STREET STREAMING VIDEOS

Users in older versions of Firefox may experience display issues.

BOOKS24X7

See below SKILLSOFT BOOKS (BOOKS24X7)

CITATION LINKER FORM

The search catalog box on the citation linker form redirects to the catalog but drops the search terms. You will need to enter your terms again.

CLASSIC LIBRARY CATALOG

Using Chrome to search the classic catalog may produce cookie error messages. Clear your history and try again OR try Firefox.

EBSCO DATABASES INCLUDING EBOOKS and OneSearch

Remote access does not work using "Private Windows" for MAC and "Incognito Windows" for PC using Chrome browser. Try another browser or turn off this setting when using EBSCO remotely. In general, if you get an error message clear your history/cache/cookies or try a different browser.

EBSCO DATABASES "LINKED FULL TEXT" (including OneSearch)

Linked Full Text may produce an error. WORKAROUND: Search for the journal in either the Catalog or E-Journals tab, and then search for the article within the journal site. NOTE: IF WE DON'T HAVE A SUBSCRIPTION THE JOURNAL WILL NOT APPEAR IN ANY SEARCH RESULTS. In general, if you get an error message clear your history/cache/cookies or try a different browser.

E-JOURNALS PORTAL (SERIALS SOLUTIONS) AND ARTICLE LINKER ONGOING MAINTENANCE

Once per month (typically the 3rd Sunday) beginning at 2:00am, the provider will perform server maintenance expected to last 2-3 hours. E-journals and article linker may be temporarily unavailable during this time period.

HEIN ONLINE

Content not included in Catalog, only OneSearch. Use OneSearch or go directly to the Database listed on the H Tab.

ILLIAD

ILLiad migrated to a new server in 2023 and there may be some ongoing glitches. If you get an error message when trying to link out to the system, click here to go directly to the site.

ONESEARCH AND BROWSER TRACKING

OneSearch may become unresponsive due to problems with browser tracking. If error messages appear: change your privacy/security settings to strict / do not track; refresh your page. In general, if you get an error message clear your history/cache/cookies or try a different browser.

ONESEARCH LINKED FULL TEXT and FULL TEXT LIMITER

Linked Full Text may produce an error. WORKAROUND: Search for the journal in either the Catalog or E-Journals tab, and then search for the article within the journal site. NOTE: IF WE DON'T HAVE A SUBSCRIPTION THE JOURNAL WILL NOT APPEAR IN ANY SEARCH RESULTS.  

The Full Text limiter may include results that do not link out to a journal. This typically means we may have licensing to the journal, but not to the year(s) in question. See above re: searching the E-Journals tab to verify.

In general, if you get an error message clear your history/cache/cookies or try a different browser.

PDFs / OPENING OF LINKS

Some browsers may prevent opening of links and/or PDFs. WORKAROUND for links: Right-click the link and choose "Open link in new tab" WORKAROUND for PDFs: Some PDFs may not open in the embedded viewer and trigger an error message; click on download icon found in viewer window. Other times "Download PDF" may be an option to be selected. Or you may need to right click Download button and select 'save link as'

SCIENCE DIRECT (ARTICLE LINKER)

If you get an error message clear your history/cache/cookies or try a different browser. As an alternative, if you know the journal title then try searching for it in the Library Catalog or the E-Journals tab. 

SCIENCE DIRECT (PDF DOWNLOADS)

Downloading of multiple articles or an entire issue requires logging-in to your personal ScienceDirect account (do not attempt to sign-in via the INSTITUTION link). Individual article downloads are possible without logging-in to ScienceDirect.

SKILLSOFT BOOKS (BOOKS24X7)

FOR DEVICES USING CAMPUS WIFI, MUST USE FORDHAM GUEST UNSECURED WIFI. FORDHAM SECURE WIFI IS NOT COMPATIBLE WITH THIS DATABASE ONLY.

If you cannot access a Skillsoft ebook from the catalog link, search for the title directly in the Books24x7 database.

ZOTERO AND TEMPORARY BLOCKS BY PROVIDERS

See Quick Self-Help Tips for Access Problems box on this page for info.

Serials & E-Resources Dept

Serials & E-Resources Department
Fordham University Libraries


Lynn Parliman  ♦  parliman@fordham.edu
Luisa Porretta  ♦  porretta@fordham.edu