Research Guides @ Fordham: SWGS 6007 Social Policy II: Analysis, Advocacy, and Practice (Prof. Poindexter): Statistics

Web

Local Statistics

New York City Department of Health
HIV/AIDS Statistics in New York State
Revised January 2018.
Westchester County Department of Health

Web

U.S. Data and Statistics

AIDS.gov Statistics
Date last updated: December 5, 2017.
AVERT: AIDS & HIV Statistics
United States of America HIV & AIDS statistics from an international HIV and AIDS charity based in the UK. Page last updated: June 29, 2017; next full review: December 22, 2019.
CDC Fact sheet: Today's HIV/AIDS Epidemic
From August 2016.
CDC: HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data Base
Page last revised: September 25, 2017.
CDC: HIV Among People Aged 50 and Older
Page last updated & reviewed: February 12, 2018.
CDC: HIV Basic Statistics Overview
Page last reviewed & updated: November 30, 2017.
CDC Sexually Transmitted Diseases: Data and Statistics
Page last updated: September 26, 2017.
HIV Epidemiology & Field Services Reports
For NYC. See HIV/AIDS Statistical Reports.
HIV/AIDS Statistics and Surveillance
Includes basic statistics; overview of prevalence in the U.S., incidence estimates, fact sheets, slide sets, and reports.Page updated: June 28, 2017.
HIV/AIDS Surveillance Reports
Annual HIV Surveillance Report provides an overview on the current epidemiology of HIV disease in the United States. Page last updated: February 14, 2018..
HRSA HIV/AIDS Programs
Learn more about Ryan White and programs "for those who do not have sufficient health care coverage for coping with HIV disease."
ILO Programme on HIV/AIDS and the World of Work (ILO/AIDS)
The ILO is the UN agency with special responsibility for the world of work and has a key role to play in preventing the spread of the AIDS epidemic and mitigating its impact in the world of work.
Kaiser Family Foundation: HIV/AIDS Slides (figures & tables)
Kaiser Family: HIV/AIDS State Health Facts
National Addiction & HIV Data Archive
"NAHDAP acquires, preserves and disseminates data relevant to drug addiction and HIV research."
NCHHSTP AtlasPlus
"Explore CDC's HIV | Hepatitis | STD | TB Data." From the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention. Page last reviewed & updated: August 30, 2017.
NIAID's HIV/AIDS Research Program
Content last reviewed: November 17, 2017.
NIH (National Institutes of Health) Office of AIDS Research (OAR)
"The Office of AIDS Research coordinates the scienfitic, budgetary, legislative, and policy elements of the NIH AIDS research program."

Additional U.S. Data

More U.S. Federal Statistics on HIV/AIDS

National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
NCHS is part of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention; responsible for collecting vital U.S. health statistics.
Population Reference Bureau This link opens in a new window
Reports from all over the world on population trends, health, and the environment.
Sociometrics Social, Behavioral, and Health Sciences Library (Formerly SSEDL) This link opens in a new window
Over 400 data sets on wellness drivers including sexual and reproductive health, HIV-awareness, mental hygiene, intimate partner violence, and substance abuse. Can be downloaded for SAS, SPSS, and STATA. Access only to DATA. Do Not use Internet Explorer.

State Health Profiles
From the National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention; updated Oct. 16, 2017.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection and summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Data is downloadable to MS Excel.

Statistics on HIV/AIDS from NIDA
From the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs - VA National HIV/AIDS Website
Last updated: February 9, 2018.

International

International Statistics on HIV/AIDS

CIA World Factbook: HIV/AIDS
Fact Sheet: Latest Statistics on the Status of the AIDS Epidemic
From UNAIDS
Global Statistics: The Global HIV/AIDS Epidemic
From HIV.gov; according to UNAIDS; page last updated: November 20, 2017.
Health Statistics
Scroll down to International: HIV/AIDS. By Subject Specialist Librarian Bruce Abbott, UC/Davis Medical Library. August 9, 2017.
Kaiser Family Foundation: HIV/AIDS
Pan-American Health Organization
more...less...
HIV and STI page
U.N. Program on AIDS
UNAIDS Interactive Map: Towards Universal Access
USA Mexico Border Health: AIDS and HIV
Last reviewed: March 23, 2017.
USAID Demographic and Health Surveys
WHO
HIV/AIDS Health Topic
WHO
Publications on HIV
World Population Data Sheet
From the Population Reference Bureau. Includes HIV/AIDS prevalence. Includes 2016 Interactive Map.

Statistics on Children

Centers for Disease Control
HIV/AIDS pregnant women, infants and children. Last reviewed: September 14, 2017.
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
Scroll down to Featured Areas of Research - HIV/AIDS.
New York State Department of Health
Talking with young people about HIV/AIDS; includes educational materials. Revised May 2016.
UNICEF
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services - Administration for Children & Families
Child Welfare Information Gateway. Programs for Families Affected by HIV/AIDS.
Womenshealth.gov
Protecting your children from HIV