Research Guides @ Fordham: SWGS 6007 Social Policy II: Analysis, Advocacy, and Practice (Prof. Poindexter): Databases/Articles

Best Databases

Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
CQ Researcher
Includes Archive 1923-Present. A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on political and social-policy issues that study the evolution of various topics over time.
EBSCOhost Databases List
Collection of full text and bibliographic databases covering every area of academic study. Mobile users will be automatically recognized.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Edition)
2nd edition of the 26-volume online encyclopedia.
JAMA
Subscribed content limited to JAMA, JAMA Psychiatry and JAMA Pediatrics 1998-current. Limit searches to subscribed content only. For search strings with more than 255 characters, use PubMed with journal JAMA.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. Bibliographies in 16 subjects: African Studies, Art History, Biblical Studies, Buddhism, Cinema & Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Literary & Critical Theory, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Renaissance & Reformation, Social Work and Sociology. Citations are linked to full text when available.
Policy File Index
Now on the Proquest platform! Online access to public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Covers full text, primary source Congressional legislative history. Includes all enacted and related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, and related committee documents. All of these publication types can be used in court to determine the intent of Congress in enacting legislation in cases where the statutory language is ambiguous. Presidential signing statements are also included.
ProQuest Research Library
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971
PsycARTICLES (APA)
Thousands of full text articles from journals published by the APA. On EBSCOhost platform.
PsycINFO (APA)
Abstracts and Indexing to serial and book literature in psychology since 1840. On EBSCOhost platform.
Scopus
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Sociometrics Social, Behavioral, and Health Sciences Library (Formerly SSEDL)
Over 400 data sets on wellness drivers including sexual and reproductive health, HIV-awareness, mental hygiene, intimate partner violence, and substance abuse. Can be downloaded for SAS, SPSS, and STATA. Access only to DATA. Do Not use Internet Explorer.
Social Work Abstracts
Offers extensive coverage of hundreds of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
SocIndex with Full Text
Comprehensive index to the literature on sociology including journals, books, and conference papers.

Fordham Library Catalog

Search catalog for books, ebooks, periodicals, government documents, videos, maps etc. held by Fordham at all campuses.

Encyclopedias

For background information

The Encyclopedia of Social Work by Terry Mizrahi; Larry E. Davis
Call Number: E-book
New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2008.
20th edition

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Edition)
2nd edition of the 26-volume online encyclopedia.
Oxford Reference Premium
Over 300 dictionaries, encyclopedias and subject reference books published by Oxford University Press. Limited to 5 Simultaneous Users.

Need Materials from Outside Fordham?

Cannot find items you need for your research?

Materials not owned by Fordham can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Consortia privileges provide you with additional access to other research collections* beyond Fordham’s holdings.

*Check with the library you intend to visit to be sure that in-person access is available at this time.

Document Delivery

Document Delivery Service

The Document Delivery Service allows Fordham University faculty and graduate students to obtain email delivery of journal articles not available electronically through the Fordham databases but which are available in print in the library.

This service was established to allow faculty, and now students, to request and receive research materials with proper copyright clearance via their Fordham email accounts.

SWGS 6007 Social Policy II: Analysis, Advocacy, and Practice (Prof. Poindexter): Databases/Articles

Best Databases

Fordham Library Catalog

Encyclopedias

Need Materials from Outside Fordham?

Document Delivery

Reference & Instruction Department