Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics
Elsevier Science Direct. A comprehensive resource for researcher, teachers, and students with internal cross referencing and links to other publications.
Access to 70+ journals from the Institute of Physics, including full archival access. Note: Journal content only!
PROLA - Physical Review Online Archive
American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, Physical Review A–E. It contains all APS journal articles published from 1893–2007. Another year is added each January.
CERN, DESY, Fermilab and SLAC have built the next-generation High Energy Physics (HEP) information system, INSPIRE. It combines the successful SPIRES database content, curated at DESY, Fermilab and SLAC, with the Invenio digital library technology developed at CERN. INSPIRE is run by a collaboration of CERN, DESY, Fermilab, IHEP, IN2P3, and SLAC, and interacts closely with HEP publishers, arXiv.org, NASA-ADS, PDG, HEPDATA and other information resources.
Citizen Science Resources
CitSci.org was developed through the Natural Resources Ecology Lab (NREL) at Colorado State University as an initiative to promote citizen involvement in scientific research. It provides tools for the entire research process including: creating new projects, managing project members, building custom data sheets, analyzing collected data, and gathering participant feedback.
CitizenScience.gov is an official government website designed to accelerate the use of crowdsourcing and citizen science across the U.S. government. The site provides a portal to three key components: a catalog of federally supported citizen science projects, a toolkit to assist federal practitioners with designing and maintaining their projects, and a gateway to a community of hundreds of citizen science.
Citizen Science Association
The Citizen Science Association (CSA) is a member-driven organization that connects people from a wide range of experiences around one shared purpose: advancing knowledge through research and monitoring done by, for, and with members of the public.
SciStarter is an online community dedicated to improving the citizen science experience for project managers and participants. Over 3,000 projects and events are searchable by location, scientific topic, and age level, and by joining SciStarter, members can track their contributions and provide valuable feedback. SciStarter also supports researchers in managing projects, including best practices for engaging participant partners.
The Zooniverse is the world’s largest and most popular platform for people-powered research. This research is made possible by volunteers — more than a million people around the world who come together to assist professional researchers. The goal is to enable research that would not be possible, or practical, otherwise. Zooniverse research results in new discoveries, datasets useful to the wider research community, and many publications.
Physics and Astronomy Oriented Citizen Science Projects
Galaxy Zoo is a crowdsourced astronomy project which invites people to assist in the morphological classification of large numbers of galaxies. There are multiple Galaxy Zoo projects currently active.
This project has contributors listen to seismic waves and classify different seismic events. The ultimate goal is to collect enough data to train a machine learning algorithm to automate the classification of seismograms.
The Gravity Spy project enlists citizen scientists to help physicists and astronomers working on the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-wave Observatory (LIGO). This project helps scientists narrow their focus to gravitational wave sources and develop citizen science methods that can scale with upcoming data-intensive scientific endeavors.
Full text of Annual Reviews on subscription, mostly in the sciences.
A full-text, open archive and distribution server for theoretical and applied scientific research papers. Hosted by Cornell University. Coverage 1991 to the present.
Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals
Full text of subscribed journals from the world's largest scientific publisher.
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
A non-profit organization dedicated to making scientific literature freely available by publishing a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine.
On ProQuest's platform. A definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. Provides access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements vital to scientific and technical literature.
Science Online (AAAS)
Science is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and publishes the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world. No access to articles prior to 1997
Scientific Style and Format Online
Council of Science Editors' flagship style manual online. The authoritative reference for all areas of science and related fields.
Vast scientific database with references dating from 1960; provides citation searching.
Physics Online Resources
American Institute of Physics
Home page of the AIP with content important for undergraduates to professionals.
American Physical Society
The American Physical Society (APS) is a nonprofit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and international activities. APS publishes the Physical Review.
Extensive information about all aspects of climate and weather from the National Climactic Data Center
Interactive site explaining and exploring geologic time periods.
Open and online courses covering a variety of topics, including in depth Physics courses.
NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database
NED is a comprehensive database of multiwavelength data for extragalactic objects, providing a systematic, ongoing fusion of information integrated from hundreds of large sky surveys and tens of thousands of research publications.
NASA Image and Video Library
The latest images, videos, and audio recordings from NASA, all of which are in the public domain. The site also has instructions on how to use the NASA Image and Video Library API for personal projects.
NASA Multimedia Page
Covers the whole history and scope of space exploration.
Physics World Weekly
From the Institute of Physics, a weekly podcast about current events in the physics world. Each episode goes over key events, research breakthroughs, and relevant talking points in the world of physics.
The Titanium Physicists
Hosted by Dr. Ben Tippett and a rotating cast of physicists, this show focuses making advanced physics topics accessible. Every two weeks, Dr. Tippett brings on another physicist to help explain a hot topic in the physics world to a non-physicist guest.
Surely You're Joking
Physicist Dr. Kevin Peter Hickerson along with comedians Jimmy O Yang, Mitch Burrow, Owen Benjamin, Griff Pippin and Matthew Broussard discuss the absurdities of the universe with notable guests from the world of physics.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
email@example.com ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)