Research Guides @ Fordham: Physics: Astronomy & Astrophysics

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks

Cambridge Illustrated Dictionary of Astronomy by Jacqueline Mitton
Call Number: QB14 .M578 2007
New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007
Starbriefs Plus by Andre Heck
Call Number: QB14 .S743 2004
Boston : Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2004
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics by Paul Murdin (Editor)
Call Number: QB14 .E534 2001
New York : Nature Pub. Group, 2001

Asteroids by Clifford J. Cunningham
Online Resource
London : Reaktion Books, Limited, 2021
The Cosmic Century by Malcolm S. Longair
Call Number: QB461 .L66 2006
New York : Cambridge University Press, 2006
Fundamental Astronomy by Hannu Karttunen (Editor); Pekka Kroger (Editor); Heikki Oja (Editor); Markku Poutanen (Editor); Karl Johan Donner (Editor)
Call Number: QB43.3 .T2613 2017
Cham, Switzerland : Springer-Verlag Berlin An, 2016
An Introduction to Mathematical Cosmology by J. N. Islam
Call Number: QB981 .I73 2002
New York : Cambridge University Press, 2002

CfA Database List
List of databases maintained by CfA at Harvard.
Chandra Data Archive (CDA)
Provides archival data on the Chandra X-Ray Observatory, which is a telescope that detects x-ray emissions in very hot areas of the universe.
NASA/IPAC Infrared Science Archive (IRSA)
Provides access to trillions of astronomical measurements and observational datasets.
NASA’s High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC)
Provides archival data of electromagnetic radiation, gamma-ray bands, and cosmic microwaves.
National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO) Data Archive
Provides data on radio wavelengths throughout the universe.

Asteroids: How Love, Fear, and Greed Will Determine Our Future in Space by Martin Elvis
[Online Resource[
New Haven, CT : Yale University Press, 2021
Black Hole Blues by Janna Levin
Call Number: QC179 .L48 2016
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2016
The Light Ages by Seb Falk
Call Number: Q124.97 .F35 2020
New York : W.W. Norton & Company, 2020
Measuring Shadows by Raz Chen-Morris
[Online Resource]
University Park, PA : The Pennsylvania State University Press, 2016
Most Wanted Particle by Jon Butterworth; Lisa Randall (Foreword by)
Call Number: QC16.B88 A3 2014
New York, NY : The Experiment, LLC, 2014
The Stars by H. A. Rey
Call Number: QB63 .R4 2008
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2008
What's Eating the Universe? by Paul Davies
Online Resource
Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2021

Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics
The Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics, in publication since 1963, covers the significant developments in the field of astronomy and astrophysics.
Years available: 1996 - Present
Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences
An annual peer-reviewed scientific journal published by Annual Reviews, which broadly covers Earth and planetary sciences.
Years available: 1996 - Present
The Astronomy and Astrophysics Review
Publishes invited reviews by experts in subjects relevant to astronomy and astrophysics.
Years available: 1989 - Present
The Astrophysical Journal
A peer-reviews journal published by the IOP containing recent developments, discoveries, and theories in astronomy and astrophysics.
Also available is the Astrophysical Journal Letters (ISSN: 2041-8205) and The Astrophysical Journal Supplement Series (ISSN: 0067-0049).
Years Available: 1996 - Present
Living Reviews in Solar Physics
A peer-reviewed, open-access scientific journal publishing reviews on all areas of solar and heliospheric physics.
Years available: 2004 - Present
Space Science Reviews
A peer reviewed, scientific journal of space science, established in June 1962.
Years available: 1997 - Present
The Astronomical Journal
From the IOP, this journal publishes original astronomical research with a focus on discoveries made from observation.
Years available: 1998 - Present

Library of Congress Call Numbers for astronomy and astrophysics topics:

G 3180 - 3197 (Maps: Universe. Solar System. Celestial maps. Moon)

QB 1 - 139 (General Astronomy)

QB 140 - 237 (Practical and spherical astronomy)

QB 275 - 343 (Geodesy)

QB 349 - 421 (Theoretical astronomy and celestial mechanics)

QB 455 - 456 (Astrogeology)

QB 460 - 466 (Astrophysics)

QB 468 - 480 (Non-optical methods of astronomy)

QB 495 - 903 (Descriptive astronomy)

QB 500.5 - 785 (Solar system)

QB 799 - 903 (Stars)

QB 980 - 991 (Cosmogony. Cosmology)

Norton's Star Atlas and Reference Handbook by Ian Ridpath
Call Number: QB65 .N67 2004
New York : Pi Press, 2004
The NASA Atlas of the Solar System by Ronald Greeley; Raymond Batson
Call Number: QB605 .G7 1997
New York : Cambridge University Press, 1997
Observing and Cataloguing Nebulae and Star Clusters by Wolfgang Steinicke
The New General Catalogue (NCG), originally created in 1888, is the source for referencing bright nebulae and star clusters, both in professional and amateur astronomy.

Digitized Sky Survey (DSS)
Photographic archive of the National Geographic Society-Palomar Observatory Sky Survey (a survey of the northern sky).
SIMBAD Astronomical Database
The Set of Identifications, Measurements and Bibliography for Astronomical Data is an astronomical database of objects beyond the Solar System.
Sloan Digital Sky Survey
The Sloan Digital Sky Survey has created the most detailed three-dimensional maps of the Universe ever made, with deep multi-color images of one third of the sky, and spectra for more than three million astronomical objects.