Databases/Articles - PCS - School of Professional and Continuing Studies - Research Guides @ Fordham at Fordham University Libraries

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index to history of U.S. and Canada comprising nearly 2,000 journals since 1910.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Worldwide index of books, journal articles, reviews and essays in all fields of religion with many links to full text. Includes all ATLASerials® (ATLAS®) titles and content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index® (ATLA CPLI®). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (ATLA)
Merged with ATLA Religion Database
Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
An index to over 130 Evangelical Christian journals. Access limited to 8 Simultaneous Users.
Credo Reference - Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Millions of entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. Access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, and 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs and maps.
EBSCOhost Databases List This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text and bibliographic databases covering every area of academic study. Mobile users will be automatically recognized.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Largest collection of education journals. Provides indexing & abstracting to over 1500 journals, and full text to over 750. Includes full text of numerous books and conference papers.
Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library. Articles on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.
Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
Look under heading Middle East and Islamic Studies to access
Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library. 10 volume encyclopedia edited by Donald Borchert. Macmillian, 2006. Go to Table of Contents for full text.
Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception - REMOTE ACCESS PROBLEM 1/27/25 This link opens in a new window
Problems have been reported while attempting to access this database remotely. Published by De Gruyter. First comprehensive reference work on biblical reception in Judaism, Christianity, Islam and other religions. Will be published between 2010 and 2018 in 30 volumes.
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an (Qur'anic Studies Online) This link opens in a new window
Brill Online Reference Works. Comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qurān. Dictionary of Qurʾanic & Qurʾān Concordance included.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering over 2000 journals, books and other important reference sources.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Edition) This link opens in a new window
2nd edition of the 26-volume online encyclopedia.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR (WITH AI RESEARCH TOOL - BETA) This link opens in a new window
NEW AI RESEARCH TOOL (BETA) Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Primary source materials include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform. NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources). To use the new AI Research Tool, first select a subscribed journal article, Open Access book chapter, or research report.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
Literature Criticism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of literary criticism from classical to modern times.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Literature reference database. Includes information on literary figures from all time periods writing in all genres; thousands of overviews of literary works; thousands of author portraits; Access to numerous literary journals; some literary criticism (see Literature Criticism Online for comprehensive coverage).Content is selective; Not all full volumes; Click on the title list to see Fordham holdings.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles from thousands of journals, monographs, and reviews related to New Testament studies since 1985.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles from several hundreds journals, monographs, and software related to Old Testament studies. Coverage since 1978.
Original Sources (formerly Omega Sources) This link opens in a new window
E-books database of primary sources in World and American History, Politics, Religion, Social Sciences, Philosophy, Law, Literature and Science.
READING EPUB FILES
When opening an ePub file, make sure to choose “save file”
Remember the file name and where it is saved on your computer. You will need to know this when it is time to read the file in the EPUBReader extension.

Add the CHROME EPUBReader browser extension:
menu icon (3 dots) > more tools > extensions > get more extensions > search for EPUBReader > add to chrome > close welcome box.
The EPUBReader icon should be automatically added to your toolbar.

Add the Firefox browser extension:
menu icon (3 lines) > add-ons > get add-ons > see more add-ons > search for EPUBReader > add to firefox > close the welcome box
The EPUBReader icon should be automatically added to your toolbar.

TO READ AN EPUB FILE:
Click on the EPUBReader icon in your Chrome or Firefox toolbar to open it > click on the folder icon at the top of the page and select the previously saved ePub file.
NOTE: Your file will not be saved in the Reader; you will have to open the file each time you want to read it.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Online resource for helping students explore today's hottest social issues from all perspectives. * Note: Only 85-90% of each reference title is included in the database. Some material is omitted because of online rights issues.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971
PsycARTICLES (APA) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full text articles from journals published by the APA. On EBSCOhost platform.
PsycBOOKS (APA) This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly and professional books and chapters published by APA and other publishers. Includes Encyclopedia of Psychology and all volumes of the APA Handbooks in Psychology Series. On EBSCOhost platform. All PsycBooks have UNLIMITED user access.
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and Indexing to serial and book literature in psychology since 1840. On EBSCOhost platform.
Religious & Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Twayne's Authors Online This link opens in a new window
Includes over 600 well-known books from Twayne's World, English and US Authors series.

Legend

The following icons are used in the databases lists:

Limited simultaneous users.

Password required.

Open access content.

Contains multimedia content such as music or video.

Contains statistical data. Contains statistics / data.

Get Articles & Studies

For clinical literature, see Databases/Articles at the top of the guide to find these articles.

Hint:

To find studies, paste this string of terms into an additional search bar in the database you are using:

study OR research OR methodology OR subjects OR data OR results OR findings OR discussion OR conclusion

Open Access Journals

Berghahn Open Anthro S2O This link opens in a new window
Content for 16 journals is OA beginning 2020 or later. Continued access is not guaranteed.
BioMed Central BMC This link opens in a new window
Several hundred peer-reviewed open access journals covering Science, Technology and Medicine subject areas from Springer Science+Business Media.
Brill Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Growing list of Open Access journals from Brill. Look for the green icon for available content. NOTE: When using the search feature, check off the 3 limiters on the left: Subscribed; Free; Open Access.
Cambridge University Press: Open This link opens in a new window
Open Ejournals and Ebooks in a variety of subject areas.
CLOCKSS Triggered Content This link opens in a new window
CLOCKSS is a not-for-profit joint venture between the world’s leading academic publishers and research libraries whose mission is to build a sustainable, geographically distributed dark archive with which to ensure the long-term survival of Web-based scholarly publications. Content no longer available from any publisher ("triggered content") is available for free with a Creative Commons license.
DeGruyter Open This link opens in a new window
Leading publisher of open access scientific content with nearly 400 scholarly journals across all major disciplines.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals covering all topics.
NOTE: Some content may not be freely available.
Firenze University Press: Open Access Ejournals This link opens in a new window
Fifty Open Access journals covering a wide range of subjects.
IEEE Open This link opens in a new window
Fully open access journals from IEEE spanning a wide range of technologies.
IOPscience OA Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 30 key online journals fully Open Access.
Karger Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Searchable gateway of open access journals for every biomedical discipline.
Making of America, journals and monographs (Cornell University) This link opens in a new window
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction
Making of America, journals and monographs (University of Michigan) This link opens in a new window
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction
OpenDOAR - The Directory of Open Access Repositories This link opens in a new window
Authoritative directory of academic open access repositories that lists repositories and allows breakdown and selection by a variety of criteria.
Project Euclid Open Access This link opens in a new window
Complete holdings of selected math and statistics journals from a variety of publishers hosted by Project Euclid.
Public Library of Science (PLOS) This link opens in a new window
A non-profit organization dedicated to making scientific literature freely available by publishing a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. Includes submission of papers that have been shared
as preprints.
RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies. Compiled from thousands of periodicals and collections of articles in many languages mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.
Royal Society Open Science This link opens in a new window
Open journal with high-quality peer-reviewed original research. Covers the entire range of science and mathematics. See new section called "Science, Society, and Policy" for published work that sits at the interface of Science, Society, and Policy.
Sage Gold Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
All articles published in the journals provide worldwide, barrier-free access to the full-text of articles online, immediately on publication under a creative commons license.
ScienceDirect Open Access This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of free journals from Elsevier's ScienceDirect platform.
Scientific Reports This link opens in a new window
An OA peer-reviewed journal from Nature.com publishing original research from across all areas of the natural sciences, psychology, medicine and engineering.
SpringerOpen Journals This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of free peer-reviewed journals from Springer, across all areas of science.
Taylor & Francis Open Access This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis and Routledge currently publish a number of pure open access journals. The articles in these journals receive both rigorous peer review and expedited online publication.
Thieme Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Over fifty health, medicine and science Open Access titles. Make sure the Open Access filter remains selected. Chrome browser recommended.
University of California Press - Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Collabra is University of California Press's open access journal program. The Collabra program currently publishes Collabra: Psychology and Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene, with plans for continued expansion and journal acquistion.
Wiley-Blackwell Open Access Collection This link opens in a new window
Wiley's fully open access journals are immediately freely available to read, download and share. The fully open access journals are published in collaboration with authoritative journals.
To access content, choose "Journal Information" under the relevant title.

Need Materials from Outside Fordham?

Cannot find items you need for your research?

Materials not owned by Fordham can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Consortia privileges provide you with additional access to other research collections* beyond Fordham’s holdings.

*Check with the library you intend to visit to be sure that in-person access is available at this time.

Document Delivery

Document Delivery Service is useful for obtaining journal articles from Fordham Libraries that are not available electronically through Fordham databases but which are, however, available in print format in the Library. Articles will be sent to you through your Fordham email.

Document Delivery Service for Faculty, Undergraduate, and Graduate Students
To request journal articles only available in the print format in the Library

PCS - School of Professional and Continuing Studies: Databases/Articles