Finding E-books - PCS - School of Professional and Continuing Studies - Research Guides @ Fordham at Fordham University Libraries

E-book Collections

Books24x7 - Skillsoft This link opens in a new window
Full text of books on technology, business, finance and management. Majority of titles are not downloadable due to publisher restrictions. Includes IT and Desktop videos, and thousands of audio books.100 concurrent users at one time. No downloading available. Internet Explorer Not Supported.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Unique historical reference compendium of renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series.
Credo Reference - Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Millions of entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. Access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, and 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs and maps.
EBSCOhost eBooks (Including Academic Collection) This link opens in a new window
A mix of UNLIMITED and LIMITED simultaneous books representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Includes over 2,500 Open Access books.
MUST CLICK ON BOOK TITLE AND SCROLL DOWN TO SEE CONCURRENT USER LEVEL. Limited functionality on mobile devices. Try a different browser if you encounter problems using Chrome.
Chapter downloads and printing are limited by publisher. To print or save beyond the max number of pages, open a new browser or browser window to start a new session and reopen the book, as this will reset the page count. NOTE: PREVIOUS SESSION MUST BE CLOSED FOR 1SU and 3SU BOOKS
ADOBE DIGITAL EDITIONS is required to download and view some titles. See link below for setup instructions.
When downloading an eBook using the Chrome browser, the download will not automatically open but appears in the download bar at the bottom of the browser. Click the download in the bar and select Open to open the eBook or select Always open files of this type to automatically open future EBSCO eBooks downloads in ADE.

HOW DO I INSTALL AND AUTHORIZE ADOBE DIGITAL EDITIONS?
Note: If the book was already downloaded to your computer prior to authorizing ADOBE DIGITAL EDITIONS, the book will need to be deleted and then downloaded again.
Fordham Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of purchased books published by Fordham University Press in History, Literature, Philosophy, Religion and Political Science.
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Online access to encyclopedias, reference works, and other ebooks covering a wide range of topics. Includes Scribners Writers and Twaynes Authors titles.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Partnership of major research institutions and libraries creating digital archive of library materials. Full text access only to the portion of the archive comprising public domain works, indicated by "Full View". Not completely Open Access. Downloading or printing depends on each title's copyright status. Click into each title to see entitlements on the left sidebar.
Humanities E-book Collection (ACLS) This link opens in a new window
Full text of thousands of unique and scholarly e-books in the humanities and related social sciences from the American Council of Learned Society. All titles are unlimited use; no simultaneous use restrictions.
Original Sources (formerly Omega Sources) This link opens in a new window
E-books database of primary sources in World and American History, Politics, Religion, Social Sciences, Philosophy, Law, Literature and Science.
READING EPUB FILES
When opening an ePub file, make sure to choose “save file”
Remember the file name and where it is saved on your computer. You will need to know this when it is time to read the file in the EPUBReader extension.

Add the CHROME EPUBReader browser extension:
menu icon (3 dots) > more tools > extensions > get more extensions > search for EPUBReader > add to chrome > close welcome box.
The EPUBReader icon should be automatically added to your toolbar.

Add the Firefox browser extension:
menu icon (3 lines) > add-ons > get add-ons > see more add-ons > search for EPUBReader > add to firefox > close the welcome box
The EPUBReader icon should be automatically added to your toolbar.

TO READ AN EPUB FILE:
Click on the EPUBReader icon in your Chrome or Firefox toolbar to open it > click on the folder icon at the top of the page and select the previously saved ePub file.
NOTE: Your file will not be saved in the Reader; you will have to open the file each time you want to read it.
PsycBOOKS (APA) This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly and professional books and chapters published by APA and other publishers. Includes Encyclopedia of Psychology and all volumes of the APA Handbooks in Psychology Series. On EBSCOhost platform. All PsycBooks have UNLIMITED user access.
Twayne's Authors Online This link opens in a new window
Includes over 600 well-known books from Twayne's World, English and US Authors series.

Fordham Library Catalog

Search catalog for books, ebooks, periodicals, government documents, videos, maps etc. held by Fordham at all campuses.

Accessing an E-book

Library Catalog
Start here when looking for e-books

Locate the e-book in your results; the notation will say [electronic resource] within or at the end of the title.
Click on the small, blue letters URL or the actual url to open the e-book in the Item Information section of the record.
Log off as soon as you are finished; many e-books accommodate only one user at a time.

To Find Ebooks Specifically in the Fordham Library Catalog

From www.library.fordham.edu

To narrow your results to E-books only, type your search terms as above; choose "Online Resources" from the drop-down menu next to the word "library" located underneath the red "Search" button.

Note: You may have to log in with your Fordham username and password (which is the same username and password used for My. Fordham.edu) to access an e-book if you are off campus.