Databases & Journals

Databases (see NY Times box on this page for NY Times)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
Accessible Archives (SEE History Commons 8/30/24)
Diverse primary source materials from books, newspapers and periodicals with views of American history and culture during the 19th century. Available in a user-friendly online environment.
America's Historical Newspapers, Early American Series 1-5 (1690-1922) This link opens in a new window
From Readex. Hundreds of newspapers chronicling the evolution of American history, culture and daily life from 1690-1922.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index to history of U.S. and Canada comprising 2,000 journals since 1910.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search together all series of the AAS Historical Periodicals Collection.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
Brings together various digitized collections to create "an open network of online resources that draw on the nation's living heritage..." Items from the Government Printing Office and Medical Heritage Library.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Thousands of academic, peer-reviewed books from hundreds of publishers. NOTE: Some books have partial content only.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals covering all topics.
NOTE: Some content may not be freely available.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American History.
Problems have been reported with Chrome. For best results, use Firefox or Edge. Clear cache to refresh screen view.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery This link opens in a new window
Provides open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's collections, including manuscripts, posters, photos and prints.
New York State Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full-text of business journals, newspapers, news wires from all over the US.

New York Times Access

New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text from 1980 to the present on the ProQuest platform.
New York Times (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full text of The New York Times from 1985 to current day.
New York Times (Fordham & The New York Times) This link opens in a new window
Information for free online access to the New York Times. Administered and supported by the Division of Student Affairs and the Parents Fund. Scroll down and click on "New Subscribers" to create a personal account.
Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Full text of The New York Times for 1851-2017.
Note: The digitized Index allows users to search on and view terms exactly as they appeared in the New York Times print index and newspaper articles.

Individual Journals & Data Sources

The Westchester Historian (1955- ) Print, 2nd floor (RH) D1.W45

Alt. title: Quarterly Bulletin of the Westchester County Historical Society

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Proceedings of the Board of Supervisors of the County of Westchester

- Electronic Access via Hathi Trust - Full Text available from 1870-1949

Westchester County Business Journal

Westchester Rising (Newspaper)
Full Text available 2008 - Present

New York - Westchester County: Databases & Journals

Databases (see NY Times box on this page for NY Times)

New York Times Access

Individual Journals & Data Sources

Reference and Instruction Department