Research Guides @ Fordham: HIST 4312 : Antisemitism and Racism (Prof. Alcenat &amp; Prof. Teter): Primary Source Description & Context

FirstSearch / WorldCat

WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
OCLC's subscription platform for precision searching of WorldCat.

Use Class Presentation Slides for Search Tips

Anti-Racist Primary Source Description

Archives for Black Lives in Philadelphia: Anti-Racist Description Resources
Endorsed by the Society of American Archivists and created by Archives for Black Lives in Philadelphia’s Anti-Racist Description Working Group, this resource provides guidance about describing archival items and collections.

New York Public Library

New York Public Library owns many historical databases that Fordham is unable to afford. A library card with NYPL is needed to access these resources.

Get a New York Public Library Card
Available to anyone 13 or older who lives, works, attends school, or pays property taxes in New York State.
Search NYPL's Databases
Offers databases with Jewish and African American primary sources and periodicals.

General Newspaper & Magazine Collections

Accessible Archives (SEE History Commons) This link opens in a new window
Transcriptions of 18th & 19th century newspapers and magazines.
America's Historical Newspapers, Early American Series 1-5 (1690-1922) This link opens in a new window
Newspapers chronicling the evolution of American history, culture and daily life from 1690-1922.
American Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,500 magazines and journals published between 1740 and 1940.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides select digitized newspaper pages from American newspapers from 1770 to 1963.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Partnership of major research libraries creating digital archive of public domain publications including books, magazines, journals, trade publications, and government information.

All newspapers available at Fordham University Libraries
Shows full list of newspaper databases.

Jewish Newspapers & Archives

Historical Jewish Press
A collection of Jewish newspapers (including NY papers) preserved by the National Library of Israel and Tel-Aviv University.
American Jewish Committee Archives
The American Jewish Committee Archives based in NYC houses an vast range of 20th & 21st century American Jewish history including more than a million documents, films, and radio shows.

History Vault: Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975 (Platform Ends 1/8/2025) This link opens in a new window
Offers primary source materials highlighting U.S. international relations with Israel and Palestine (among other topics) from 1960-1975.

See Additional Digital Archives on the Jewish Studies guide
Provides links to U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum, Yad Vashem Digital Collections, the Center for Jewish History, and more.

African American Newspapers, Magazines, and Archives

Black Life in America - 1704 to Today This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of news media and primary sources organized by historical eras, themes, topical areas, and events.
Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Louisville Defender, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Cleveland Call and Post, and Michigan Chronicle. Coverage varies by paper.
History Vault: NAACP Papers, Special Subjects (Platform Ends 1/8/2025) This link opens in a new window
Offers digitized archival records of key areas central to the NAACP's history. To expand your search of NAACP archives, select the option to search the NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files as well.

The Crisis
Provides links to locate digitized copies of The Crisis published by the NAACP from 1910-1963.
Negro Digest/Black World, Jet, and Ebony via Google Books
Offers free access to historical issues of Johnson Publishing Company titles including Negro Digest/Black World, Jet, and Ebony.

HIST 4312 : Antisemitism and Racism (Prof. Alcenat & Prof. Teter): Primary Source Description & Context

Primary Source Description & Context

FirstSearch / WorldCat

Anti-Racist Primary Source Description

New York Public Library

General Newspaper & Magazine Collections

Jewish Newspapers & Archives

African American Newspapers, Magazines, and Archives

Reference & Instruction Department