Skip to Main Content

HIST 4312 : Antisemitism and Racism (Prof. Alcenat & Prof. Teter): Background Information & Books

Course guide to support HIST 4312 : Antisemitism and Racism with Prof. Magda Teter and Prof. Westernly Alcenat, Fall 2023.

History 4312: Antisemitism and Racism

This guide supports students in HIST 4312: Antisemitism and Racism with Prof. Westenley Alcenat and Prof. Magda Teter during Fall 2023.

► Additional research guides that could help with this class:

Find the slides from the class presentation here

Background Information

Reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc) can provide authoritative background information that can help you select keywords on your research topic to use in library catalogs and databases.

Research Help

Not finding the information you need?

Chat live with a librarian to get some help.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

OneSearch & Library Catalogs

There are multiple ways you can search for print & electronic books at Fordham:

► OneSearch aggregates books Fordham owns plus some articles from databases. It also includes bibliographic records for content that Fordham does not own.

 

► Library Catalog

The new Library Catalog is still being refined.

  • At the moment, using a browser connector associated with bibliographic software like Zotero or EndNote is limited. Try ingesting bibliographic records from OneSearch or the Classic Library Catalog instead.

 

Classic Library Catalog

Find the Classic Library Catalog by pulling down the Collections menu > Classic Library Catalog:

Decorative

Reading Catalog Records

Catalog record for The Anatomy of Blackness

Image credit: Catalog record view for Curran, Andrew S. The Anatomy of Blackness: Science and Slavery in an Age of Enlightenment. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2011.

► Examine a catalog record to find:

* While subject headings help us find information in electronic catalogs and databases, they are also political and spark important debates about resource description and social justice.

Interlibrary Loan

Borrowing books or accessing articles that are not available at any of the Fordham University Libraries requires assistance from Interlibrary Loan.

Requesting Book Chapters & Print Journal Articles

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 
library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ 
Ask a Librarian (Chat)