Research Guides @ Fordham: Gardening & Agriculture: Gardening Resources

Gardening Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Hydrangeas by C. J. van Gelderen
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] SB43 .H93G45 2004
Portland, OR: Timber Press, 2004
The Complete Encyclopedia of Garden Flowers
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] SB403.2 .C65 2003
San Diego, CA: Thunder Bay Press, 2003
The Complete Encyclopedia of Garden Plants
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] SB403.2 .C655 2004
San Diego: Thunder Bay Press, 2004
The New Encyclopedia of Daylilies: more than 1,700 outstanding selections by Ted L. Petit
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] SB413 .D3P483 2008
Portland, OR: Timber Press, 2008
The Color Encyclopedia of Hostas by Diana Grenfell
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] SB413 .H73G73 2004
Portland, OR: Timber Press, 2004
An Encyclopedia of Shade Perennials by W. George Schmid
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] SB434 .S297 2002
Portland, OR: Timber Press, 2002
Dictionary of Plant Breeding, 2nd Edition by Rolf H. J. Schlegel
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] SB1223 .S32 2010
Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2010
Rodale's Illustrated Encyclopedia of Organic Gardening by Henry Doubleday Research Association Staff (Created by); Anna Kruger (Abridged by); Pauline Pears (Foreword by); Maria Rodale (Foreword by)
Call Number: [RH Special Collections] SPEC COLL POWELL 61
New York, NY : DK Publishing, 2005
The Encyclopedia of Herbs by Thomas DeBaggio; Arthur O. Tucker
Call Number: [RH Special Collections] SPEC COLL POWELL 208
Portland : Timber Press, 2009

Manuals and Guides to Planting and Garden Design

Armitage's Manual of Annuals, Biennials, and Half-Hardy Perennials by Allan M. Armitage; Asha Kays (Illustrator); Chris Johnson (Illustrator)
Call Number: [RH Stacks] SB422 .A66 2001
Portland, Or. : Timber Press, 2001
The Shady Border: shade-loving perennials for season-long color by C. Colston Burrell (Editor)
Call Number: [RH Special Collections] SPEC COLL POWELL 324
Brooklyn : Brooklyn Botanic Garden, 2007
Perennials: The Gardener's Reference by Ann Lovejoy (Foreword by); Susan Carter; Carrie Becker; Bob Lilly; Lynne Harrison (Photographer)
Call Number: [RH Special Collections] SPEC COLL POWELL 30
Portland, Or. : Timber Press, 2007
The Essential Garden Design Workbook by Rosemary Alexander; Rachel Myers
Call Number: [RH Stacks] SB473 .A443 2017
Portland, Oregon : Timber Press, 2017
Perennial Garden Design by Michael King
Call Number: [RH Oversize Stacks] SB434 .K557 2006
Portland, Or. : Timber Press, 2006

Popular Books on Gardening

Second Nature: A Gardener's Education by Michael Pollan
Call Number: [RH Stacks] SB455 .P58 1991
New York, N.Y. : Dell Publishing, 1991
Green Thoughts, Green Shades by Jonathan F. S. Post (Editor)
Call Number: [RH Stacks] PR533 .G74 2002
Berkeley: University of California Press, 2002
Rambunctious Garden by Emma Marris
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QH75 .M363 2011
New York : Bloomsbury, 2011
A Short History of Gardens by Gordon Campbell
Call Number: [RH Stacks] SB451 .C36 2016
Oxford ; New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2016

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Gardening Subjects

Library of Congress call numbers for gardening topics:
SB1-1110 Plant culture

SB109.7-111 - Methods for special areas
SB113.2-118.46 - Seeds. Seed technology
SB118.48-118.75 - Nurseries. Nursery industry
SB119-124 - Propagation
SB125 - Training and pruning
SB126 - Artificial light gardening
SB126.5-126.57 - Hydroponics. Soilless agriculture
SB129-130 - Harvesting, curing, storage
SB317.5-319.864 - Horticulture. Horticultural crops
SB320-353.5 - Vegetables
SB354-402 - Fruit and fruit culture
SB381-386 - Berries and small fruits
SB387-399 - Grape culture. Viticulture
SB401 - Nuts
SB403-450.87 - Flowers and flower culture. Ornamental plants
SB406.7-406.83 - Plant propagation
SB409-413 - Culture of individual plants
SB414.6-417 - Greenhouses and greenhouse culture
SB418-418.4 - Container gardening
SB419-419.3 - Indoor gardening and houseplants
SB419.5 - Roof gardening. Balcony gardening
SB421-439.8 - Classes of plants
SB442.5 Care and preparation of cut flowers and ornamental plants for market
SB442.8-443.4 - Marketing. Cut flower industry. Florists
SB446-446.6 - Horticultural service industry
SB447 - Preservation and reproduction of flowers, fruits, etc.
SB447.5 - Bonkei. Tray landscapes
SB449-450.87 - Flower arrangement and decoration
SB450.9-467.8 - Gardens and gardening
SB469-(476.4) - Landscape gardening. Landscape architecture
SB599-990.5 - Pests and diseases
SB608 - Individual or types of plants or trees
SB610-615 - Weeds, parasitic plants, etc.
SB617-618 - Poisonous plants
SB621-795 - Plant pathology
SB950-990.5 - Pest control and treatment of diseases. Plant protection
SB950.9-970.4 - Pesticides

Gardening and Plant Identification Guides

Waterlilies and Lotuses: specied, cultivars and new hybrids by Perry D. Slocum
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] SB423 .S582 2005
Portland, OR: Timber Press, 2005
The New Oxford Book of Food Plants by John Vaughan
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] SB175 .V38 2009
Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2009
The Oxford Companion to the Garden
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] SB450.95 .O94 2006
[Also an Online Resource]
Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2006
The Botanical Garden by Roger Phillips
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] SB450.97 .P45 2002
Buffalo: Firefly Books, 2002
Invasive Plant Species of the World: a reference guide to environmental weeds by Ewald Weber
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] SB613.5 .W43 2003
Cambridge, MA: CABI Publishing, 2003
Tropical Flowering Plants: a guide to identification and cultivation by Kirsten Albrecht Llamas
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] SB407 .L59 2003
Portland, OR: Timber Press, 2003
The Iris Family by Peter Goldblatt; John C. Manning
Call Number: [RH Oversize Stacks] QK495.I75 G625 2008
Portland : Timber Press, 2008

Books on Pesticides, Pests, Plant Pathology, and Plant Care

Concise Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology by P. Vidhyasekaran
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] SB728 .V525 2004
New York: Food Products Press, 2004
Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] Sb728 .E53 2001
New York: John Wiley, 2001
What's Wrong With My Plant? (And How Do I Fix It?) by David Deardorff; Kathryn Wadsworth
Call Number: [RH Special Collections] SPEC COLL POWELL 236
Portland [Or.] : Timber Press, 2009

Gardening & Agriculture: Gardening Resources

Gardening Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Manuals and Guides to Planting and Garden Design

Popular Books on Gardening

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Gardening Subjects

Gardening and Plant Identification Guides

Books on Pesticides, Pests, Plant Pathology, and Plant Care

Reference & Instruction Department