Research Guides @ Fordham: Gardening & Agriculture: Databases &amp; Recommended Resources

Gardening and Agriculture Databases

Agricola (SEE National Agricultural Library)
Agriculture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and authoritative content on agriculture and related fields that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
Digitized books, journals, images and collections from a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries creating a global “biodiversity commons” of significant biodiversity materials. Includes the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.
Encyclopedia of Earth This link opens in a new window
Open access resource issued by the National Council for Science and the Environment.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy, 2009 This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library. Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates.
Environmental Studies - Gale In Context (formerly GREENR) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource on environmental topics that includes news, commentary, documents, conference reports, statistics, audio, video, images. Updated daily.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. Some full text.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of over 384,000 items on the human impact to the environment, as well as full text for nearly 5,000.
National Agricultural Library SEARCH This link opens in a new window
SEARCH is the USDA National Agricultural Library's main search tool. It provides simple, one-stop access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines.

PubAg
PubAg is the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), National Agricultural Library's (NAL) search system for agricultural information. PubAg contains full-text articles relevant to the agricultural sciences, along with citations to peer-reviewed journal articles with links to publisher sites and elsewhere for full-text access.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
On ProQuest's platform. Provides access to a wide range of biology topics, including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments.
Nature Journal This link opens in a new window
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology.
Public Library of Science (PLOS) This link opens in a new window
A non-profit organization dedicated to making scientific literature freely available by publishing a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. Includes submission of papers that have been shared
as preprints.
SciFinder-n (CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform) This link opens in a new window
From CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. Reference, substance, reaction and supplier content. New: Formulations data, Analytical methods and Historical chemistry content. Also includes step-by-step procedures and protocols, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and more. NEW USERS CLICK HERE TO REGISTER FOR PERSONAL ACCOUNT. ACCESS DOES NOT WORK USING VPN. USERS MUST GO TO THE SCIFINDER DATABASE LINK ABOVE AND AUTHENTICATE INTO FORDHAM NETWORK USING FORDHAM UN AND PW. THEN FOLLOW PROMPTS TO LOGIN WITH PERSONAL SCIFINDER UN/PW.
Remote users see more notes below.
REMOTE USERS: Must do the following to access full text.
Full Text Dropdown > View all Sources > Under In House Resources, click on Find Full Text. If content doesn't appear in window, select a different source in the sidebar.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.

Webpages

Agricultural Communications Documentation Center
From University of Illinois, the ACDC brings together diverse, relevant literature about agricultural-related communications.
National Agricultural Law Center
The National Agricultural Law Center, a unit of the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture, is an agricultural law research and information facility that is independent, national in scope, and directly connected to the national agricultural information network.
National Agriculture Library
The National Agricultural Library is one of five national libraries of the United States and houses one of the world's largest collections devoted to agriculture and its related sciences.
PlantFacts
Horticulture and crop science information from 46 different colleges, universities, and government institutions across the United States and Canada. This searchable site run by the Department of Horticulture and Crop Science, The Ohio State University provides access to over 260,000 pages of Extension fact sheets and bulletins from every land-grant university in the U.S. and several government institutions across Canada.
PLANTS Database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Royal Horticulture Society
The Royal Horticultural Society is the UK’s leading gardening charity.