Research Guides @ Fordham: Gardening & Agriculture: Agriculture Resources

Agriculture Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources by Susan Echaore-McDavid
Call Number: S494.5 .A4E24 2011
New York: Ferguson's, 2011
CRC Dictionary of Agricultural Sciences by Robert Alan Lewis
Call Number: S411 .L39 2002
Boca Raton : CRC Press, 2002
Dictionary of Agriculture and Land Management by Will Manley; Katharine Foot; Rachael Foy; Andrew Davis
Online Resource
Oxford University Press, 2019
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems by Neal K. Van Alfen (Editor-In-Chief)
Online Resource
Academic Press, Elsevier Science & Technology, 2014
Encyclopedia of Biotechnology in Agriculture and Food
Call Number: S494.5 .B563E53 2011
Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2011
Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable, and Local Food by Leslie A. Duram (Editor)
Call Number: HD9005 .E645 2010
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood/ABC-CLIO, 2010
Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary by L. W. Turchenek (Editor); M. R. Carter (Editor); E. G. Gregorich (Editor); Denis A. Angers (Editor)
Call Number: S592 .S59 2001
Boca Raton : CRC Press, 2001

Encyclopedia of Animal Science
Call Number: SF61 .E18 2005
New York: Marcel Dekker, 2005
A Natural History of Domesticated Mammals by Juliet Clutton-Brock
New York, NY, USA: Natural History Museum, 1999
Good Breeding by Yann Arthus-Bertrand
Call Number: SF76 .A785 1999
New York, N.Y. : Harry N. Abrams, 1999
Cattle: A Handbook to the Breeds of the Wolf by Val Porter; Jake Tebblt (Illustrator)
Call Number: SF198 .P67 2007
Ramsbury, Wiltshire : Crowood, 2007
Milk!: A 10,000-Year Food Fracas by Mark Kurlansky
Call Number: SF250.5 .K87 2018
New York: Bloomsbury Publishing, 2018
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Horse Breeds by Susan McBane
Call Number: SF291 .M33 2005
Edison, N.J. : Wellfleet Press, 2005
Poultry Science, Chicken Culture by Susan M. Squier
Call Number: SF487 .S74 2011
New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press, 2011
The Merck Veterinary Manual 11E by Susan E. Aiello; Michael A. Moses; Melinda D. Merck
Call Number: SF748 .M47 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-18
Kenilworth, NJ : Merck & Company, Incorporated, 2016

Library of Congress call numbers for agriculture topics:

S1-972 - Agriculture (General)

S21-400.5 - Documents and other collections
S403 Agricultural - missions, voyages, etc.
S419-482 - History
S530-559 - Agricultural education
S539.5-542.3 - Research. Experimentation
S544-545.53 - Agricultural extension work
S548-548.6 - Historic farms
S550-559 - Exhibitions. Fairs
S560-571.5 - Farm economics. Farm management. Agricultural mathematics
S583-587.73 - Agricultural chemistry. Agricultural chemicals
S588.4-589.6 - Agricultural physics
S589.7 A - gricultural ecology (General)
S589.75-589.76 - Agriculture and the environment
S589.8-589.87 - Plant growing media. Potting soils
S590-599.9 - Soils. Soil science
S600-600.7 - Agricultural meteorology. Crops and climate
S602.5-604.37 - Methods and systems of culture. Cropping systems
S604.5-604.64 - Agricultural conservation
S604.8-621.5 - Melioration: Improvement, reclamation, fertilization, irrigation, etc., of lands
S605.5 - Organic farming. Organiculture
S606-621.5 - Special classes of lands and reclamation methods
S622-627 - Soil conservation and protection
S631-667 - Fertilizers and improvement of the soil
S671-760.5 - Farm machinery and farm engineering
S770-790.3 - Agricultural structures. Farm buildings
S900-972 - Conservation of natural resources

Encyclopedia of Aquaculture
Call Number: SH20.3 .E53 2000
New York: John Wiley & Sons, 2000
Aquaculture by John Davenport; Kenneth D. Black; Gavin Burnell; Tom Cross; Sarah Culloty; Suki Ekaratne; Bob Furness; Maire Mulcahy; Helmut Thetmeyer
Call Number: SH135 .A59 2003
Oxford, UK : Blackwell Science, 2003
Changing the Face of the Waters: The Promise and Challenge of Sustainable Aquaculture by World Bank Staff
Call Number: SH136.S88 C47 2007
Washington, DC : World Bank, 2007
Four Fish: The Future of the Last Wild Food by Paul Greenberg
Call Number: SH167.S17 G74 2010
New York : Penguin Press, 2010
Saving Global Fisheries by J. Samuel Barkin; Elizabeth R. DeSombre
Call Number: SH329.S87 B37 2013
Cambridge, Massachusetts : The MIT Press, 2013

Elsevier's Dictionary of Forestry by B. Delijska; P. Manoilov
Call Number: SD126 .D455 2004
Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2004
Dictionary for Managing Trees in Urban Environments by Danny B. Draper; Peter A. Richards
Online Resource
Collingwood, Vic. : CSIRO Publishing, 2009
Handbook of Urban Services by Charles K. Coe
Online Resource
Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, 2009
Forests Forever by John J. Berger; Charles E. Little (Foreword by)
Call Number: SD143 .B46 2008
San Francisco : In Association with Forests Forever Foundation ; [Chicago] : Distributed by the University of Chicago Press, 2008