Research Guides @ Fordham: Fordham Museum of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Art: Attic Vase-Painting

Where to Start

The Transformation of Athens: Painted Pottery and the Creation of Classical Greece by Robin Osborne
Call Number: (RH) NK4649 .O82 2018
Princeton University Press, 2018
Reading Greek Vases by Ann Steiner
Call Number: (RH) NK4645 .S735 2007
Cambridge University Press, 2007.
A Companion to Greek Art by Tyler Jo Smith (Editor); Dimitris Plantzos (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) N5630 .C716 2012 V.1-2
Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World
Malden, MA and Oxford: Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.
The Art of Vase-Painting in Classical Athens by Martin Robertson
Call Number: NK4645 R7 1992
University of California Press, 1992.
The Development of Attic Black-Figure by John D. Beazley; Dietrich Von Bothmer (Editor); Mary B. Moore (Editor)
Call Number: + NK4648 .B42 1986
University of California Press, 1986.

Going Deeper

The Colors of Clay: Special Techniques in Athenian Vases by Beth Cohen
Call Number: (RH) +NK4645 .C58 2006
The J. Paul Getty Museum, 2006.
Understanding Greek Vases: A Guide to Terms, Styles, and Techniques by Andrew J. Clark; Maya Elston; Mary Louise Hart
Call Number: (RH) NK4645 .C57 2002
The J. Paul Getty Museum, 2002.
Vase Painting, Gender, and Social Identity in Archaic Athens by Mark D. Stansbury-O'Donnell
Call Number: (RH) NK4645 .S73 2006
Cambridge University Press, 2006
How to Read Greek Vases by Joan R. Mertens
Call Number: NK4645 .M475 2010
Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2010

Peer- Reviewed Journals

Databases

JSTOR & ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Primary source materials include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. All Open Content, Journal Collections, and Reports are available to Fordham users. Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform. NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets
Artstor (Platform Ends 7/31/24 - SEE JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of thousands of online images of paintings, sculptures, architecture and other works of art. Remote Users: Must Make Personal Account on Campus before trying remote access. After signing in with your Fordham Username (formerly AccessIT ID), sign in again with personal account username and password. Must disable your browser’s pop-up blocker.
ARTSTOR MERGING INTO JSTOR 8/1/2024. ALL ARTSTOR IMAGE GROUPS WILL BE COPIED TO JSTOR WORKSPACE DURING 2/2024.CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
Dyabola This link opens in a new window
German Archaeological Institute database of classical archaeology books and articles from 1956 to the present.
L'Annee Philologique-Bibliography of the Classical World This link opens in a new window
Specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window
The Getty provides open access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire International de la Littérature de l'Art (RILA). These citation databases, searchable together, cover European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.The Getty Research Institute.
Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker (part of Jacoby Online) This link opens in a new window
Fragments of the Greek historians that comprise Felix Jacoby's monumental work.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new window
Complete texts of all classical Greek literature from Homer to the fall of the Byzantium in AD 1453. The new interface requires all users to establish a user profile.

Fordham Museum of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Art: Attic Vase-Painting

Where to Start

Going Deeper

Peer- Reviewed Journals

Databases

Helpful International Sites

Reference & Instruction Department