Research Guides @ Fordham: English and American Literature: Advanced Resources for Faculty & Grad Students

Databases

Fordham Scholarship Online

Full text of purchased books published by Fordham University Press in History, Literature, Philosophy, Religion and Political Science.
Gale Literature Platform Search
Gale's literature platform for cross-searching: Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers Online and Twayne's Authors on GVRL.
Humanities International Index
Comprehensive database covering over 2000 journals, books and other important reference sources.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text

Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this subject index dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers. Covers modern languages, literature, folklore and linguistics. Does not include MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Oxford English Dictionary (WITH AI SEARCH ASSISTANT/RESEARCH TOOL - BETA)
Unabridged, historical dictionary giving current and past meanings with examples of use drawn from literary. Includes the Historical Thesaurus of the OED, the first comprehensive historical thesaurus ever produced for any language, and contains almost every word in English from Old English to the present day.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Use ILLiad to request articles, books, and other materials from other libraries. To access, click on My Accounts on the library homepage.
New York Public Library Research Catalog
NYPL cardholders have access to databases, periodicals, and other research-level resources.

WorldCat FirstSearch
Includes over 512 million records from libraries in over 65 countries. WorldCat notes nearby libraries that have a specific item.

Access to Other Libraries
Click here to learn more about the MaRLI program, OCLC Shares, and access to other libraries guide.
Catalogs of Other Local Libraries

Learn more about EndNote, Mendeley, and Zotero from our detailed Bibliographic Management Tools guide.

ArchiveGrid
Primary source materials from more than 1,000 institutions. Includes personal and family histories, historical documents, and beyond.
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
Provided by the Library of Congress, NUCMC is a searchable catalog of manuscript collections in WorldCat.
Library of Congress Advanced Search
Search the Library of Congress Catalog.
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Use this tool to identify official Library of Congress subject headings. Use LoC subject headings when searching in Fordham University Library's Catalog Subject line, as well as other academic libraries' catalogs.