Research Guides @ Fordham: Disability Studies: Legislation

U.S. Disability Legislation & Guidance

A Guide to Disability Rights Laws
Compiled by the Disability Rights Section of the U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division.
ADA.gov
Contains information and technical assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973
Prohibits discrimination against people with disabilities from any program or activity receiving Federal funding and establishes the rights of students with disabilities to reasonable accommodations in public and private schools.
Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973
Congress amended the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 in 1998 to require Federal agencies to make their electronic and information technology (EIT) accessible to people with disabilities.
United States Access Board
A federal agency that promotes equality for people with disabilities through leadership in accessible design and the development of accessibility guidelines and standards for the built environment, transportation, communication, medical diagnostic equipment, and information technology.
National Council on Disability
An independent federal agency charged with advising the President, Congress, and other federal agencies regarding policies, programs, practices, and procedures that affect people with disabilities.

United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD)
Adopted in December of 2006, this convention is intended as a human rights instrument with an explicit, social development dimension. This link provides access to the full text of the convention and its optional protocol, ratifications and objections, signatories, and more.
UN Digital Library
Search portal for digital UN documents and reports.
International Disability Alliance (IDA)
Provides information by country on the ratification and implementation of the UN CRPD from IDA, an international membership organization representing people with disabilities.
International Disability Rights Laws
A list of country-based laws curated by the Disability Rights and Education Fund.

Not finding the information you need?

Chat live with a librarian to get some help.

HeinOnline Law Library This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide range of legal resources including: Supreme Court cases, law-related periodicals and books, codes, opinions and more.
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
LegalTrac provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers.
ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Full text primary source Congressional legislative history collection with all enacted and related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, related committee documents, and more.