Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Disability Studies: Articles & Databases

An overview of resources available at Fordham University Libraries and beyond for Disability Studies research.

Articles & Databases

This page highlights databases and selected journals used to help find articles at Fordham University Libraries. 

  • A periodical is a journal, magazine or newspaper published regularly on a schedule. Researchers can look up periodicals individually or search on a topic across many periodicals through a database.
  • Library databases may contain a combination of peer-reviewed articles as well as reports, book reviews, opinion pieces, datasets, images, videos, archival content, and more.

question mark  If you are unsure about how to find something you need, feel free to Ask a Librarian to point you in the right direction.

Searching for Journals, Newspapers, and Magazines

This section will help you find an article from a citation or check to see if Fordham subscribes to a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper.

Requesting Articles Through InterLibrary Loan

Articles from journals that Fordham does not subscribe to can be requested through InterLibrary Loan. If the library is able to get access, these articles will be delivered to researchers electronically.

Research Help

Not finding the information you need?

Chat live with a librarian to get some help.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Additional Databases & Research Guides

Your entry point into Disability Studies might come from History, Literature, Business & Economics, Humanitarian Studies, Sociology, etc. Try using additional subject-specifc library databases and research guides as resources.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Library databases aggregate content from journals, magazines, and newspapers. For a wider search across many publications on a topic, trying using a library database to search for articles.

If your focus is on finding peer-reviewed articles from scholarly journals, use the options in each database to target your search by peer review status and document type i.e. check boxes for full text, peer review, articles, etc. Using these options known as "limiters" should remove book reviews from your results.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 

library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ 
Ask a Librarian (Chat)