Research Guides @ Fordham: Digital Humanities: Video Games &amp; DH

Selected Game Design Books

Game Design Workshop [electronic resource] : A Playcentric Approach to Creating Innovative Games (4th ed.) by Tracy Fullerton
CRC Press, 2019.
Future Gaming [electronic resource] : Creative Interventions in Video Game Culture by Paolo Ruffino
Goldsmiths Press, 2018.
Interactive Stories and Video Game Art : A Storytelling Framework for Game Design by Chris Solarski
CRC Press, 2017.
Call number [RH Stacks] GV1469.34.A97 S65 2017
A Game Design Vocabulary by Anna Anthropy and Naomi Clark
Addison-Wesley, 2014.
Call number [RH Stacks] GV1469.34.A97 A58 2014
Critical Play [electronic resource] : Radical Game Design by Mary Flanagan
MIT Press, 2009.
Call number [RH Stacks] GV1230 .F53 2009
An Introduction to Game Studies [electronic resource] : Games in Culture by Frans Mayra
Sage Publications, 2008.
The Art of Game Design : A Book of Lenses by Jesse Schell
Morgan Kaufmann, 2008.
Call number [RH & LC Stacks] QA76.76.C672 S35 2008
Rules of Play : Game Design Fundamentals by Katie Salen; Eric Zimmerman
MIT Press, 2003.
For electronic access, you will have to search for the book through the Books24x7 - Skillsoft database.

For additional titles, check the library catalog.

Selected Instructional Books for Making Games

Virtual Reality with VRTK4 [electronic resource] : Create Immersive VR Experiences Leveraging Unity3D and Virtual Reality Toolkit by Rakesh Baruah
Apress, 2020.
Make Your Own Scratch Games! by Anna Anthropy
No Starch Press, 2019.
Make Your Own Twine Games! by Anna Anthropy
No Starch Press, 2019.
Classic Game Design [electronic resource] : From Pong to Pac-Man with Unity, 2nd ed. by Franz Lanzinger
Mercury Learning and Information, 2019.

For additional titles, check the library catalog or search the Books24x7 - Skillsoft database.

Novice Tools for Making Games

Twine
Open source tool for telling interactive, nonlinear stories online.
Clio
Website and mobile application for map-building projects.

Digital Archives

Internet Archive Software Library
Tens of thousands of playable software titles from multiple computer platforms, allowing instant access to decades of computer history in your browser through the JSMESS emulator.

Search Tips with Library of Congress Subject Headings

The list below contains suggestions of Library of Congress Subject Headings when searching for books via the subject search field of the library catalog.

Augmented reality

Computer games

Computer games--Design

Computer games--Programming

Educational games

Interactive multimedia

Internet games

Video games

Video games industry

Video games in education

Video games--Psychological aspects

Video games--Social aspects

Virtual reality in archaeology

Gaming & Computer Science

Computer & Information Science Research Guide
Check out our Computer & Information Science Research Guide for databases and other scholarly and technical resources at the intersection of gaming and CIS.

Scholarly Journals & Conference Proceedings

GAME – Games as Art, Media, Entertainment
An international, independent, open-access, peer-reviewed games studies journal that works as a forum for theoretical, critical, and practice-based research on games and play.
Game Studies : The International Journal of Computer Game Research
Nonprofit, open access, cross-disciplinary journal dedicated to games research published online several times a year.
New Media & Society
International journal that providing an interdisciplinary forum to examine the social dynamics of media and information change.
Transactions of the Digital Games Research Association (DiGRA)
Quarterly, international, open access, refereed, multidisciplinary journal dedicated to research and practice on all aspects of game studies.
Games and Culture : A Journal of Interactive Media
International journal publishing innovative theoretical and empirical research about games and culture within interactive media. Coverage available at Fordham from 2007-2015.

For additional journals, check the Journals & Databases tab or the databases in the Computer & Information Science Research Guide.

Organizations & Resources

Digital Games Research Association (DiGRA)
Founded in 2003, DiGRA is the premiere international association for academics and professionals who research digital games and associated phenomena
International Game Developers Association (IGDA)
A nonprofit professional association & global network of collaborative projects and communities of individuals from all fields of game development.
Games for Change
Founded in 2004, Games for Change facilitates the creation and distribution of social impact games that serve as critical tools in humanitarian and educational efforts.
Video Gaming Accessibility
Compiled by Chris Corrigan for the Library of Congress, this page lists an array of resources and articles about accessibility for people with disabilities in gaming.
Entertainment Software Rating Board
Search for ratings about games and learn about the ratings criteria.

Digital Humanities: Video Games & DH