Research Guides @ Fordham: Caribbean Studies: Finding Scholarly Articles & Journals

Finding Scholarly / Peer Review Articles

This page highlights how to search for scholarly articles on a topic within a databases across many publications plus how to find a single article from a citation.

Keep in mind that library databases may contain a combination of peer-reviewed articles as well as reports, book reviews, opinion pieces, datasets, images, videos, archival content, and more.

Unsure about the different kinds of articles? Popular versus scholarly? Peer-reviewed? Try this short tutorial from the library covering Articles & Databases to learn more or refresh your memory.

If you are unsure about how to find something you need, feel free to Ask a Librarian to point you in the right direction.

Multidisciplinary Databases

► Use the options in each database below to target your search by peer review status and document type i.e. check boxes for full text, peer review, articles, etc. Using these options known as "limiters" should remove some book reviews and popular news sources from your results.

Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive multidisciplinary full text database with nearly 1,400 scholarly journals from around the world plus news, magazines, and videos.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR (WITH AI RESEARCH TOOL - BETA)
Digital archive of hundreds of academic journals as well as primary source content. Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to; look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. No access to ebooks.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. Additional features available with the creation of a personal account. NOTE: We do not have access to all content in this database; limit your search by selecting 'Only content I have access to' in the facets pane on the left.
ProQuest Research Library
Full text of articles from different source types on broad range of subjects since 1971.
SAGE Journals Collection
Full text of over 700 journals across disciplines.

Subject Specific Databases

Historical Abstracts
Abstracts for hundreds of journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Complete bibliographic citations to hundreds of scholarly journals covering political, economic, social, and artistic topics for Latin America and the Caribbean since 1970. Includes some full text.
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Subject index from the Modern Language Association (MLA) dating back to the 1920s offering journal articles in modern languages, literature, folklore, theater, film, and more.

Finding Articles from a Citation

This video breaks down the process of checking to see if Fordham subscribes to a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper). For optimal viewing, click to open the video in YouTube and select this icon to expand the video to full screen mode.

Quick Links to Selected Journals

Anthurium: A Caribbean Studies Journal
2003-present. Use the drop down menu under Content to see articles & the issue archive.
Callaloo
December 1976-present.
Caribbean Quarterly
1949-2017.
The Journal of Caribbean History
2000-present.
The Journal of West Indian Literature
1986-present.
New West Indian Guide
1992-present.
Small Axe : A Journal of Criticism
September 1998-present.
Social and Economic Studies
February 1953-present.

Caribbean Studies: Finding Scholarly Articles & Journals

Finding Scholarly / Peer Review Articles

Multidisciplinary Databases

Subject Specific Databases

Finding Articles from a Citation

Quick Links to Selected Journals

Reference & Instruction Department