Research Guides @ Fordham: Caribbean Studies: Newspapers & Magazines

Recent History Newspaper Collections

Access World News Research Collection
Offers a combination of international, national, regional, and local news. Check each title for dates covered.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text of ethnic and community newspapers including Asian American newspapers from 1959-present (coverage varies by publication).

Digital Library of the Caribbean

Digital Library of the Caribbean
Multilingual collection of cultural, historical, legal, governmental, and research materials relating to the Caribbean. Includes newspapers, official documents, maps, artifacts and more.

New York Public Library Resources

New York Public Library has amazing resources, including many historical newspaper databases that Fordham cannot afford. Get a library card with NYPL to increase your access to the following collections:

Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876)
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Latin American Newsstream
World Newspaper Archive (1800-1922)

Get a New York Public Library Card
Available to anyone 13 or older who lives, works, attends school, or pays property taxes in New York State.

Historical American & British Newspapers

While these newspapers were not published in the Caribbean, they will contain news about the Caribbean.

Black Life in America - 1704 to Today
Includes Series I, II, and III from Readex/Newsbank with regional, national, and international news sources on the African, Caribbean, and African American experience.

Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
Offers access to the Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Louisville Defender, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Cleveland Call and Post, and Michigan Chronicle. Coverage dates vary by paper.

America's Historical Newspapers, Early American Series 1-5 (1690-1922)
From Readex. Hundreds of newspapers chronicling the evolution of American history, culture and daily life from 1690-1922.

Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index
Full text of The New York Times for 1851-2017.

British Library Newspapers, 1800-1900 (Parts I & II)
Sourced from the British Library, this collection of 69 newspapers ranges from early tabloids to radical papers.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)