Research Guides @ Fordham: Anthropology & Archaeology: Archaeology

Some Suggested Titles

The Oxford Handbook of the Archaeology of Death and Burial by Sarah Tarlow (Editor); Liv Nilsson Stutz (Editor)
Call Number: GT3170 .O94 2013
The Archaeology of Ancient Egypt by Douglas J. Brewer
Call Number: DT60 .B745 2012
Big Histories, Human Lives by John Robb; Timothy R. Pauketat; School for Advanced Research (Santa Fe, N.M.) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: CC77.H5 B54 2012
Archaeology by Paul Bahn
Call Number: CC165 .B27 2012
Photography and Archaeology by Frederick N. Bohrer
Call Number: CC79.P46 B64 2011
Making Archaeology Happen by Martin Oswald Hugh Carver
Call Number: CC72 .C375 2011

Archaeological Method and Theory: an Encyclopedia. by Linda Ellis (editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref CC75 .A654 2000
New York: Garland, 2000.
Archaeology of Ancient Mexico and Central America by Susan Toby Evans (Editor); David L. Webster (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref + F1218.6 .A73 2001
New York: Garland, 2001.
Archaeology of Prehistoric Native America by Guy E. Gibbon (Editor)
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref E77.9 .A72 1998
New York: Garland, 1998.
Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology by Graeme Barker (Editor); Annie Grant (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref CC70 .C59 1999
London: Routledge, 1999.
Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology by Charles E. Orser (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref CC77.H5 E53 2002
London: Routledge, 2002.

Atlas of Classical Archaeology by M. I. Finley
Call Number: (RH) Ref (LC) Atlases G1046.E15 A8 1977
New York: McGraw-Hill, 1977.
The Atlas of World Archaeology by Paul G. Bahn (Editor); Barry W. Cunliffe (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref + CC165 .A85 2000
ISBN: 0816040516
New York: Checkmark Books, 2000.
Past Worlds: the Times atlas of archaeology by Christopher Scarre (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref + G1046.E15 P3 1988
Maplewood: Hammond, 1988.
The World Atlas of Archaeology by Michael Wood (Editor)
Call Number: (LC, RH) Atlas Area + G1046.E15 W6 1985
Boston: G.K. Hall, 1985

Voice of the Shuttle: Archaeology
Meta index of Internet sites.
Archaeologica.
Archaeological news and information.
The Archaeology Channel
Sponsored by the Archaeological Legacy League, this site provides free access to a large collection of streaming media covering archaeology worldwide.
Archaeology Channel Podcast
Archaeology news of the week presented by The Archaeology Channel.
The Museum of Underwater Archaeology
Site managed by the Museum at the University of Rhode Island introduces the research being done in the U.S. and around the world by nautical archaeologists.

The Oxford Handbook of Maritime Archaeology by Alexis Catsambis (Editor)
Call Number: CC77.U5 O99 2011
Maritime Archaeology by Keith Muckelroy
Call Number: CC77.U5 M8
Shipwreck Archaeology in Australia by Michael Nash
Call Number: CC77.U5 S55 2007
Underwater Archaeology by Nautical Archaeology Society Staff; Amanda Bowens (Editor)
Call Number: CC77.U5 U67 2009

The Makers of Classical Archaeology: A Reference Work by Linda M. Medwid
Call Number: (RH) Ref DE9.A1 M43 2000
Amherst: Humanity Books, 2000.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology, 2nd. ed. by Timothy Darvill
Call Number: (RH) Ref CC70 .D36 2008
Oxford: Oxford U P, 2008
A Dictionary of Archaeology by Ian Shaw (Editor); Robert Jameson (Editor)
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref CC70 .D53 1999
Oxford: Blackwell, 1999.
The Penguin Archaeology Guide by Paul Bahn
Call Number: (RH) Ref CC70 .P46 2001
London: Penguin, 2001.
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology by Brian M. Fagan (Editor)
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref CC70 .O96 1996
New York: Oxford U P, 1996.

Biblical Archaeology Society Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Society's publications including journals: Biblical Archaeology Review, Bible Review, and Archaeology Odyssey. Video lectures from world-renowned master teachers on the latest key issues in archaeology and the Bible.

Also see the list of Anthropology databases, since there will be overlap.