Research Guides @ Fordham: SWGS 6801 Social Work Practice in Research I: Databases/Articles

Best Bet Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Includes Archive 1923-Present. A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on political and social-policy issues that study the evolution of various topics over time.
EBSCOhost Databases List This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text and bibliographic databases covering every area of academic study. Mobile users will be automatically recognized.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971
PsycARTICLES (APA) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full text articles from journals published by the APA. On EBSCOhost platform.
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and Indexing to serial and book literature in psychology since 1840. On EBSCOhost platform.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of hundreds of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to the literature on sociology including journals, books, and conference papers.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection and summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Data is downloadable to MS Excel.

Legend

The following icons are used in the databases lists:

Limited simultaneous users.

Password required.

Open access content.

Contains multimedia content such as music or video.

Contains statistical data. Contains statistics / data.

Get Articles & Studies

For clinical literature, see Databases/Articles at the top of the guide to find these articles.

Hint:

To find studies, paste this string of terms into an additional search bar in the database you are using:

study OR research OR methodology OR subjects OR data OR results OR findings OR discussion OR conclusion

Need Materials from Outside Fordham?

Cannot find items you need for your research?

Materials not owned by Fordham can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Consortia privileges provide you with additional access to other research collections* beyond Fordham’s holdings.

*Check with the library you intend to visit to be sure that in-person access is available at this time.

Library Research Tutorial

***Note: For more information and practical suggestions on locating articles, see the "Articles & Databases" module in the Library Research Tutorial.

SWGS 6801 Social Work Practice in Research I: Databases/Articles

Best Bet Databases

Legend

Get Articles & Studies

Need Materials from Outside Fordham?

Library Research Tutorial

Reference & Instruction Department