Research Guides @ Fordham: Government Documents: Finding Aids

Sudoc (Superintendent of Documents Classification Scheme) Call Number System

Here is an outline of the Sudocs Call Number System:

A Agriculture

AE National Archives

B Broadcasting Board of Governors

C Commerce

CC Federal Communications Commission

CR Civil Rights Commission

D Defense

E Energy

ED Education

EP Environmental Protection Agency

FA Fine Arts Commission

FCA Farm Credit Administration

FHF Federal Housing Financing

FM Federal Mediation and Conciliation

FMC Federal Maritime Commission

FR Federal Reserve System

FT Federal Trade Commission

FTZ Foreign-Trade Zones Board

GA Government Accountability Office

GP Government Printing Office

GS General Services

HE Health & Human Services

HH Housing & Urban Dev.

HS Homeland Security

I Interior

ID US Agency for International Development

ITC International Trade Commission

J Justice

JU Judiciary

L Labor

LC Library of Congress

LR National Labor Relations

MS Merit Systems Protection

NAS National Aeronautics and Space Administration

NC National Capital Planning Commission

NCU National Credit Union Administration

NF National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities

NMB National Mediation Board

NS National Science Foundation

OP Overseas Private Investment Corporation

P Postal Service

PE Peace Corps

PM Personnel Management Office

PR Presidency

PREX Exec. Office of President

PRVP Vice President of the United States

RR Railroad Retiremenet Board

S State

SBA Small Business Administration

SE Small Business Administration

SI Smithsonian

SSA Social Security

T Treasury

TD Transportation

TDA U.S. Trade and Development Agency

VA Veterans Affairs Department

X Congress

Y Congress

CRS Reports

CRS Reports
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports are a resource for anyone wanting a non-partisan, objective and accurate view of something related to the government. The reports are written by research specialists at CRS for Congressmen who need an overview of petinent topics in the world, center around topics relevant to current legislation

FDsys

GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) is an advanced digital system that will enable GPO to manage Government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government.

FDsys is available as a public beta during migration of information from GPO Access. The migration of information from GPO Access into FDsys will be complete in 2010, until this time GPO Access will contain all content.

Federal Legislative History

Proquest Congressional

Catalog of Government Publications

The Catalog of Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

Fordham Library Catalog

Search catalog for books, ebooks, periodicals, government documents, videos, maps etc. held by Fordham at all campuses.

Training Videos

Available free through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) Academy.

Metlib Search

Metlib Search
MetaLib is a library portal providing end users with an easy and personalized interface which can search simultaneously for information in a variety of electronic resources, such as catalogs, reference databases, digital repositories or subject-based Web gateways. These information resources are collectively referred to as databases. Once you have found the information in which you are interested, MetaLib provides you with the tools to save it for future reference in your E-shelf, save it to disk or send it by email.

You can search multiple databases in parallel using the Basic, Advanced and Expert modules. You can also search individual databases using the A-Z Resource List module. The A-Z Resource List module enables you to locate specific databases and to create your own sets of databases for searching at your convenience. You can also link to the native interface of these databases and perform a search using the resource’s search engine.

Historical Bibliographies

Descriptive Catalogue if the Government Publications of the United States, September 5, 1774-March 4, 1881 - first comprehensive bibliography for government publications not published until 1885. Under the leadership of Benjamin Poore.

Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893 - John Griffith Ames is responsible for thispublication that arranges materials alphabetically and includes an index.

Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789 - 1909 - another useful publication from Ames that useful for examining the scope of a particular agency's publishing from its establishment to 1909.

Government Documents: Finding Aids