Research Guides @ Fordham: Veterans Resources: Online Resources

Education

VA: Welcome to the G.I. Bill.
The site provides information resources available through the G.I. Bill, applying for benefits, the Post G.I. Bill and other programs, benefit and education resources, counseling for vocational and educational issues, FAQ’s, and contact information for assistance. A section on Choosing a School provides information on things to consider before making career or educational decisions. Videos tell the story of veterans from different branches of service.
United States Department of Education: Military Families and Veterans.
One of the best sections of this site is the Resources section, containing a multitude of links for users. Information is available on Readmission Requirements for Service Members, school liaison programs with the Army, Marines, and Navy, and Support for Military Families. Other areas include Funding, Policy, and Research information.
Education Benefits (Department of Education)
Sources intended to equip veterans with the information that will help them to fairly compete in today's competitive job-placement environment and information on funding for education for military personnel and their families.
Education-related Resources (Department of Education)
Online information that assists veterans, and members of the military and their families with scholarships and employment.

Employment

U.S. Department of Labor: Veterans’ Employment and Training Service (VETS).
The VETS program has a collection of sources to assist veterans, active duty military, and employers in locating and matching military personnel with employment. Divisions are clearly labeled for Service Members, Family and Veterans, Employers, Service Providers, and Updates. Information is provided on grants for job training, hiring fairs, grants for homeless vets, and a compensation and benefits handbook for ill, wounded, and injured service members.
U.S. Small Business Administration: Office of Veterans Business Development.
SBA has a diverse assortment of programs available to assist veterans, reserve members of the military, family, and survivors with small businesses. The SBA provides information on starting a business, competing for grants, and hiring employees. A list of programs (Operation Boots to Business, Women Veterans Igniting the Spirit of Entrepreneurship, and Operation Endure and Grow) is available. Resources include a Balancing Business and Deployment Guide and Getting Veterans Back to Business.
Veterans Employment Program Office (Department of Education)
The Department of Education’s Veteran Employment Program Office (VEPO) is committed to increasing the employment of nondisabled and disabled veterans throughout the Department. In addition, the Department continues to forge partnerships with other federal government agencies, veterans service organizations, colleges, universities, and other institutions that have veterans as members, students, or affiliates.

Brain injury and post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)

Defense and Veterans Brain Injury Center (DVBIC).
DVBIC is part of the U.S. military, and the “traumatic brain injury operational component of the Defense Centers of Excellence for Psychological Health and Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI).” This site provides a wealth of information for the service members, veterans, family members, and the medical community. A wide variety of resources are included in the Educational Materials section; it is one of the most valuable areas in the site for information. Among the other resources are Fact Sheets, Signs and Symptoms, Taking Care of Yourself While Caring For Others, Addressing Family Needs, and Talking With Children about TBI. Research on TBI and DVBIC locations provide additional resources for users.
Make the Connection: Shared Experiences and Support for Veterans.
Make the Connection is a resource that allows veterans to relate their experiences and find a variety of support services. Users are able to customize the site (sex, date, branch of service, etc.) and receive sources pertinent to their experiences. Information is available for veterans, family and friends, clinicians, and others. Stories of Connection (retirement and aging, family and relationships), Signs and Symptoms (nightmares, substance abuse), Conditions (PTSD, depression), and Resources and Support (treatment and recovery, self-help) are also available.
United States Department of Veterans Affairs: National Center for PTSD.
Site provides information on PTSD for the public (family, friends, veterans) and professionals (researchers, providers). These two sections provide information on a variety of topics, including treatment programs, returning from the war zone, clinician guide, and assessment of trauma and PTSD. A section entitled About Face features veterans discussing how treatment helped them cope with PTSD. There is a division on women and PTSD, including rape, sexual assault, and traumatic stress.

LinkedIn Learning @ Fordham

What is LinkedIn Learning?

LinkedIn Learning is an online hub for learning professional and technical skills. Divided into three main categories, Business, Creative, and Technology, these courses cover a wide range of topics, including Business Development Strategy, User Experience and UX Design, and multiple programming languages. Courses range from just a few short videos to longer, more in-depth coverage of a topic. You can watch videos as you please, scroll through transcripts, and work on projects are your own pace. This is a great resource for learning new profession skills, as well as increasing your knowledge and comfort level with skills you may already have.

This resource can be accessed through the Library Databases page. You do not need a LinkedIn account to use this resource (but you can connect your account if you'd like).

Getting Started with LinkedIn Learning

Fordham LinkedIn Learning Resources
Links to activating and accessing LinkedIn Learning, LinkedIn Learning webinar schedules, and an FAQ page.

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Access provided by Human Resources. Details available here.
LinkedIn Learning is an all-in-one solution for enhancing all types of education. From soft skills to software, there's a course to add value to your personal and professional aspirations.

Fordham LinkedIn Learning Collection
A hub for LinkedIn Learning skills popular at Fordham, Fordham specific collections, and skill paths related to subjects at Fordham University.
LinkedIn Learning - Business Topics
All business topics in LinkedIn Learning.
LinkedIn Learning - Creative Topics
All creative topics in LinkedIn Learning.
LinkedIn Learning - Technology Topics
All technology topics in LinkedIn Learning.

Fordham Veterans Initiative

Fordham Veterans Initiative
The Fordham University Veterans Intiative (FordhamVets) is part of the Post 9/11 GI Bill (aka Chapter 33), which gives veterans more options in choosing a college or university. Fordham University is an approved Yellow Ribbon Program University. Its commitment to this program guarantees that all tuition and fees are fully covered for admitted veterans who are classified in the VA’s maximum benefit category.

General Internet Resources

The United States Department of Veterans Affairs
The veterans organization provides information on a multitude of subjects, including Services (new to VA?, benefits and services, health and well-being, and burial and benefits), Business (starting and doing business with the VA), Media (press releases, special events), and Locations (clinics, hospitals, cemeteries, and benefits offices). The News and Hot Topics sections on the homepage provide pertinent information to the viewer. The Special Programs section provides links to information on homeless vets, service benefits, programs for female vets, adaptive sports program, and information for surviving spouses and dependents. An excellent starting point for services available for active duty and retired military.
The United States Department of Veterans Affairs: Center for Women Veterans
The VA Department has some separate areas focused on specific issues facing women. One of the Web sites is dedicated to a variety of topics for women: health care, benefits (education, benefits, compensation, etc.), and Stories of Service. A Fact Sheet provides data on the mission of the organization, legislation, activities, and obtaining assistance
Women Veterans Health Care
Another concentrated area provided for women veterans, focusing on health care. Areas covered include Health Care Services (primary, specialty, telephone, and special groups), FAQ’s, Wellness and Healthy Living, Publications, and Celebration Posters. Videos and More Resources (sexual military trauma, homelessness, and crisis line) add to the extensive information available on this site
The National Archives Veterans Records
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the record keeper for the United States. Their site provides information on locating military service records (including pre-World War I records), using military records to research, and replacing lost medals and awards. Browse World War II leads to a wealth of resources, including African Americans during World War II, captured Nazi recordings (list of speeches and broadcasts), World War II sound recordings from 1937 to 1945, and much more. Information is available on specific wars, from the Revolutionary War to Vietnam. The Veterans Day events site provides a link to a display of posters for SPARS and WAVES, a glimpse into the past on women who served in the military
Infoplease: Active Duty Military Personnel, 1940–2011
Infoplease: Active Duty Military Personnel, 1940–2011

Deployment, homecoming, and family life

American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry: Coming Home: Adjustments for Military Families.
Provides information on helping families adjust to life after deployment. Sections include the returning family member, the adult that stayed home, children, and the family unit. A link provides additional information on families in the military, including signs of stress in children (symptoms according to age, from birth to 18 years old), and a section on easing family stress when a parent is deployed
Commander Navy Installation Center: Fleet and Family Support Program.
Provides a wealth of resources for military families. Programs include deployment readiness, personal finances, transition and relocation assistance, new parent support, life skills (anger and conflict management, new spouse orientation, suicide prevention, and stress management). Specific programs are available for families, youth, and children. This is a source geared toward the family and ensuring families have a successful and productive military life.
National Military Family Association: Deployment.
Deployment is the theme of this Web site. Links including preparing and managing for a successful deployment, legal and financial issues, talking with kids, child care, and coping with emergencies. Return issues are covered with links to Reunion and Back Home. The Reunion page includes links to resources for particular military divisions. Additional resources include mental health care, spouse education, and supporting children during deployment. Links to military and civilian support groups are also listed.

Substance abuse and suicide

National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI): Veterans and Suicide.
NAMI provides a variety of links providing assistance to active duty and veterans, including branchspecific resources. Information is also available on programs for wounded and real warriors, returning veterans, and the vet2vet crisis line. Branch specific resources on suicide are also available.
Veterans Crisis Line.
Launched in 2007, the Veterans Crisis Line provides professional assistance to veterans, family, and friends 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. The crisis line can be contacted by telephone, live chat, or text. Specific help is available for veterans, current duty, and families and friends of military personnel. A Network of Support allows the Crisis Line to provide contact information for PTSD, TBI, military sexual trauma, and family and relationship issues. This site provides numerous ways for someone to connect with professional responders for help with a variety of issues.

Veterans Resources: Online Resources