Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources - Audio & Images
Thousands of photographs and images of paintings, sculptures, architecture and other works of art.
Portal for digital collections from UK museums, galleries, libraries and archives. Searches can be limited to Images, Audio and Video.
Digital texts, images, sounds and videos from European libraries and museums
Primary Sources - Newspapers
The archive of the three sister newspapers of record (the London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes) covering 300 years of official government notices.
Primary Sources - Documents
British History Online
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Includes Parliament Rolls of Medieval England.
Note: If not automatically recognized as a Fordham user, click the login button at the top left and select "Log in automatically."
World Digital Library
Collection of primary material including images and documents from countries around the world.
Archive of War Diaries Online
Collection of links to war diaries from World War I and World War II
Archives Made Easy
Index of links to and reviews of archives in 36 countries managed by the London School of Economics.
Cold War International History Project.
Collection of previously classified documents from the KGB and other archives as well as the publications of the CWIHP publications in full text.
Connected Histories: British History Sources, 1500-1900
Digitized collection of parliamentary records, court proceedings, transportation registers, images from the British Museum, private papers, diocesan records, newspapers, etc. from the Universities of Hertfordshire, London and Sheffield.
European History Primary Sources
An index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe. Each website listed has a short description and is categorized by country, language, period, subject and type of source.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital archive of library resources including books and primary sources from a partnership of research institutions and libraries.
International Institute of Social History
One of the largest documentary and research centres in the field of social and economic history.
Modern History Sourcebook
A large collection of translated primary sources on the history of the world (especially European and American history) from the eighteenth to twentieth century.
Old Maps Online
Gateway to digitized historic maps in libraries around the world. Search for maps by geographic location and limit by date.
For additional resources, go to Biography Research Guide.
London Lives - 1690-1800
Collection of over 240,000 digitized manuscripts providing access to 3.35 million names. Brief biographies have been written for hundreds of thousands of 18th century Londoners of all classes.