Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources - Audio & Images
Thousands of photographs and images of paintings, sculptures, architecture and other works of art.
Digital texts, images, sounds and videos from European libraries and museums
German History in Documents and Images
Collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery.
Google Cultural Institute
Collection of photos and videos representing a wide selection of worldwide historical topics from 1900 to 2000.
L'Histoire par l'image (History through Images)
Covers the history of France through museum collections and archival materials. In French - use Google to translate.
Repository for the Irish public service broadcast network include film and audio clips, photographs and manuscripts. Television selections date back to 1960s. Radio clips date back to 1920s. Over 90,000 images including those of the 1916 Easter Uprising.
Archive of War Diaries Online
Collection of links to digitized war diaries from World War I and World War II
Archives Made Easy
Index of links to and reviews of archives in 36 countries managed by the London School of Economics.
Cold War International History Project.
Collection of previously classified documents from the KGB and other archives as well as the publications of the CWIHP publications in full text.
Image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts
European History Primary Sources
An index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe. Each website listed has a short description and is categorized by country, language, period, subject and type of source.
French Political Pamphlets
Collection of French Political Pamphlets in the L. Tom Perry Special Collections at Brigham Young University features more than 2,100 pamphlets published between 1547 and 1626.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital archive of library resources including books and primary sources from a partnership of research institutions and libraries.
International Institute of Social History
One of the largest documentary and research centres in the field of social and economic history.
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution
Topical essays, 250 images, songs, maps, glossary, timeline and 350 text documents.
A portal providing access to digitized historic book resources including manuscripts, incunabula, early printed books, maps, charts etc. in European collections.
Modern History Sourcebook
A large collection of translated primary sources on the history of the world (especially European and American history) from the eighteenth to twentieth century.
Old Maps Online
Gateway to digitized historic maps in libraries around the world. Search for maps by geographic location and limit by date.
Primary Sources - Documents
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
Full text of documents relating to the fields of history, law, politics, diplomacy, government and economics from the ancient times to the present.
EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
Full text of primary sources and other historical documents concerning the political, economic, social and cultural history of European countries arranged by country.
Gallica Digital Library - France
Over one million free documents including books, manuscripts, maps, images, periodicals, newspapers (Le Figaro 1830-1942, Le Temps 1861-1938 etc.) and scores.
Lorraine Beitler Collection of the Dreyfus Affair
Collection of digitized books, letters, periodicals, posters, images etc. documenting the Dreyfus Affair and its impact on art, society and politics in France.
World Digital Library
Collection of primary material including images and documents from countries around the world.