Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COMPLETE WORKS OF WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE
Searchable full text of Shakespeare's plays and poetry created by Jeremy Hylton, M.I.T.
David Perdue's Charles Dickens Page
Plot descriptions, character lists and contextual commentary on Dickens' novels as well as a scholarly bibliography.
Digital images of the Beowulf manuscript, other related manuscripts and printed texts.Edited by Keven Kiernan.
Electronic Poetry Center
From the State University of New York at Buffalo, a complete guide to poetry on the Web
First World War Poetry Digital Archive
From Oxford University, primary source material and supporting information for the study of major British poets who fought in WWI.
The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata by scholars and educators in the field.
by Peter S. Donaldson, Director, M.I.T. School of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences.
Created by the Toronto Star, features Hemingway's reports from the Toronto Star Archives
Kate Chopin International Society
American author Kate Chopin (1850–1904) wrote two published novels and about a hundred short stories in the 1890s. Most of her fiction is set in Louisiana and most of her best-known work focuses on the lives of sensitive, intelligent women.Website is edited by Bernard Koloski (Mansfield University).
Leigh Hunt Online: The Letters
Correspondence of the British Romantic poet involved in the literary, artistic, political and religious ideas in early 19th century Britain. From the University of Iowa.
NINES: Nineteenth-century Scholarship Online
The NINES Collex interface aims to gather the best scholarly resources in the field and make them fully searchable and interoperable; and to provide an online collecting and authoring space in which researchers can create and publish their own work.
Online Books Page
Citations to new books and news about literary matters. Edited by John Mark Ockerbloom, University of Pennsylvania.
Poetry Center Digital Archive
From San Franscisco State University, the Poetry Center Digital Archive makes available significant portions of early audio recordings from the Poetry Center's American Poetry Archives collection, supplemented by select archival texts and images.
Representative Poetry Online
From the University of Toronto, a full text archive of the works of hundreds of poets.
Information and discussion about the English Romantic writers. Produced by University of Maryland.
Teams Middle English Texts
The most important free website for Middle English Literature. Produced by the University of Rochester.
Walt Whitman Archive
Information on Whitman's life, works and critical reception.Published by the Center for Digital Research in the Humanities at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
The Shelley-Godwin Archive
Published by the New York Public Library and the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities, in cooperation with Oxford’s Bodleian Library.
The Emily Dickinson Archive
The Emily Dickinson Archive makes high-resolution images of Dickinson’s surviving manuscripts available in open access, and provides readers with a website through which they can view images of manuscripts held in multiple libraries and archives.