Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News, Reports, and Scholarly Articles
An independent news producer and distributor of content from and about the Middle East via the free web. It strives to provide coverage of the Middle East from a local perspective.
Al Jazeera English (AJE) - Middle East
A 24-hour news and current affairs channel/free website. It is the first international English language news channel to broadcast across the globe from the Middle East.
Middle East & Africa (MIDA)
A bibliographic and full text database, comprehensive and contemporary in scope. Includes the full text of Middle East, Abstracts & Index Ref (RH) DS41 .M46. Selected content available for free via the publishers website.
Political Science Complete
Provides full text for more than 500 journals, and indexing and abstracts for almost 3,000 titles. Also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Policy File Index
Now on the Proquest platform! Online access to public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs since 1991. Includes working papers from university research institutes, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs. Some resources have partial content only!
JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS & EBOOKS - ENDS 12/31/20)
Provides access to archival and selected current content of more than 1,400 scholarly journals, conference proceedings, primary source materials, and books across more than 50 academic disciplines. Use the "Advanced Search" option and Limit by discipline: Middle East Studies.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection (EXPANDED ACCESS TO 6/30/20)
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. No access to books. Additional features available with the creation of a personal account. ACCESS EXPANDED TO ADDITIONAL JOURNALS AND BOOKS DEPENDING ON PUBLISHER. SEE "FREE" ICON.
Full text of minority newspapers and magazines since 1991
Radio Free Europe / Radio Liberty
Views itself as an objective source for news on countries where press freedoms have been severely restricted. Find here news on the Middle East and surrounding countries.
JSTOR World Heritage Sites: Africa
Comprehensive African studies site. Contains unusual photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, excavation reports, manuscripts, traveler's accounts, historical and antiquarian maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research of African heritage.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Partnership of major research institutions and libraries creating digital archive of library materials. Full text access only to the portion of the archive that are public domain works, indicated by "Full View". Downloading or printing depends on each title's copyright status. Click into each title to see entitlements on the left sidebar.
For additional titles, search the Library Catalog.
Print Indexes and Bibliographies
Index Islamicus, 1906-1955: A Catalogue of Articles on Islamic Subjects in Periodicals and Other Collective Publications. by
Call Number: (RH) Ref DS41 .I6 and DS41 .I6 Suppl.
Index Islamicus. Supplement, 1665-1980: A Bibliography of Articles on Islamic Subjects in Periodicals and Other Collective Publications. by
Call Number: (RH) Ref DS41 .I61 vols 1 & 2.
Middle East, Abstracts & Index
Call Number: Ref (RH) DS41 .M46
This is a print version of the MIDA database.
Media Use in the Middle East
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)