SOCI 2850: Methods of Social Research: Finding Scholarly Articles

Social science databases offer enhanced features that allow researchers to access scholarly articles while also examining an article's cited sources plus subsequent articles that cited a particular article.

Database tips:

• Use the Subject Terms thesaurus to help select search terms.

• Use the Cited References and/or Times Cited in this Datbase links to access articles cited in a specific paper. Find the links under the citation information as you examine database records:

Database tips:

• Use the Thesaurus in the database to help select search terms.

• The Times cited Web of Science link should generate a list of articles that cited a particular paper. The References link will show the cited sources within a paper. 

Scopus tips:

Once inside the database, look for the circled question mark on the top right side of the screen. Click the question mark to find video and text tutorials that explain how to search Scopus effectively.

Additional search tips:

Selecting search terms can be tricky for beginning researchers in social sciences. Keep the following in mind:

• If your search is generating too few results, check to see if the database has a thesaurus or resource for selecting subject terms (usually at the top of the page near search boxes). If it does, search the thesaurus to see if there are suggested terms for your topic.

• Look for subject terms and author-supplied keywords as you look through abstracts and update your search terms to reflect those examples.

• Adjust the fields of your search terms to specific areas of information: 

• Become familiar with Boolean search techniques:
  • How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Operators video from McMaster Libraries
  • How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Modifiers video from McMaster Libraries

• Examine the articles that fit your topic to find additional articles for your literature review. Use the links within databases to connect with cited sources or search for ar (see tips under each database) ticles in specific journals through the E-Journals tab:

• Trying to search for a specific article with a DOI? Click on the E-Journals tab to search by DOI:

  You can always request a one-on-one meeting with a librarian if you need help finding articles on your topic.

Need books or articles that are not available at any of the Fordham University Libraries? Use our Interlibrary Loan Service. ILLIAD is the name of our interlibrary loan platform.