Rosenblatt Holocaust Collection: General History

Below is a sample text that could be used by professors and K-12 educators to help build their curriculum abou the Holocaust.

Michael Schuldiner's Contesting Histories is an excellent resource, as it challenges students to see both the German American and Jewish American perspectives at one time.  By challenging the narrative of the Holocaust in America in this way, students will be able to start delving into futher research about other people's perception of the Holocaust and really challenge our present understanding of the historical event.

https://www.yadvashem.org/yv/en/education/video/index.asp

The Holocaust Education Video Toolbox provides a list of videos that contain footage from Holocaust survivors.  These videos are great sources in order to share the personal history of the Holocaust and its impact on individual lives.

German Expansion, 1936-1939

The LBI Library has digitized over 100 rare periodicals from its collections. They can be accessed via a portal at Internet Archive or through DigiBaeck, LBI’s gateway for digitized materials.  The periodicals are selected for digitization because of their importance to German-speaking Jewish history and culture, as well as their lack of physical or online availability through other institutions. Due to the rare (and crumbling) nature of the periodicals, LBI has digitized holdings of some publications even when it does not own a complete series of issues. The project was sponsored by the Metropolitan New York Library Council and private donors. A team of LBI librarians and archivists - Tracey Beck, Tim Conley, Lauren Paustian, Ilya Slavutskiy, Chris Bentley, Emily Andresini, David Brown - as well as microfilming specialist Grigoriy Ratinov, selected, arranged, prepared, and microfilmed the original periodicals, researched and updated the descriptions, and worked with the digital files.
As of October 2014, more than 60 periodicals have been uploaded, and about 40 additional titles are in process.

The Periodical Collection of the Library of the Leo Baeck Institute

The entire Periodical Collection of the Library of the Leo Baeck Institute consists of nearly 1,600 titles, covering all fields of German Judaica. The rich holdings include early titles from the Enlightenment period of the late 18th century, an abundance of titles from the 19^th and 20^th century as well as recently published titles, due to a revival of Jewish communities in Germany today. Among its rarities are an extensive collection of exile periodicals published in the 1930s and 1940s by German Jews in places such as Shanghai, South America, and New York (home of Aufbau, one of the most famous émigré newspapers, newsletters from displaced persons camps in Europe after WWII, Zionist journals, social, cultural, sports, and professional organizations as well as early 20th century newsletters from various Jewish communities in Germany, Austria, and other German-speaking areas (including parts of the present-day Czech Republic, Poland (Silesia, Posen), Hungary, and Romania). Many of the physical volumes in the Periodical Collection were salvaged from famous Jewish libraries that had been confiscated and dispersed during the Third Reich.

Compact Memory Collection of Digitized German-Jewish Periodicals

The periodicals digitized by Leo Baeck Institute complement the resources available through the Compact Memory Project, which encompasses 170 important German-language Jewish periodicals published in Central Europe from 1806 – 1938. Most of the periodicals in the Compact Memory database were digitized from the holdings of the Judaica Division of the University Library Frankfurt am Main and Germania Judaica in Cologne. The project was sponsored by the German Research Foundation (DFG) from 2000 – 2006.