Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rosenblatt Holocaust Collection: Getting Started

Guide Creator: Kirsten Lee. Highlights material available in the Rosenblatt Holocaust Collection at the Fordham University Library.

About the Rosenblatt Collection

In 1991, Mr. Sidney Rosenblatt, FCLC '82, decided to establish a collection of books on the Holocaust at the Quinn Library at Fordham University's Lincoln Center Campus. Mr. Rosenblatt had a long career as a journalist, and when he retired, he decided to complete his baccalaureate studies which had been interrupted by his service in WWII. He chose Fordham College at Lincoln Center and graduated in 1982. 

His gift was inspired by the fact that as an undergraduate, he had to do a research paper on the Holocuast and found the library's holdings inadequate. His goal is to create the largest Holocaust collection in the world. Mr. Rosenblatt's gift has turned out to be extraordinary. Before he died he spent almost $400,000. The library now owns over 10,000 titles in print, microfilm, and video as well as a collection of artifacts from the period. 

The book collection is very strong in survivor memoris; transcripts of war crime trials; general histories and histories in each country affected; children's literature; accounts of resistance movements and righteous gentiles, moral and philosophical studies; novels, dramas, and poetry; illustrated works; and a recent development, Holocaust denial. 

Fordham University is proud to be one of the strongest Holocaust collections in the country and is deeply grateful to Sidney Rosenblatt and his wife Minna for the immense resources and energy they have invested in the collection.

The Rosenblatts

Minna Rosenblatt, wife of Sidney Rosenblatt (FCLC '82)

Impact of the Holocaust Today

From Newsweek:  Holocaust Survivor Hedy Epstein, Arrested in Ferguson Protest, Says Racism Is Alive in America, Abigail Jones, August 19, 2014

RTXUUK4

"Hedy Epstein turned 90 on August 15, and she spent much of last week celebrating...A human rights activist and Holocaust survivor, Epstein had been following the unrest in nearby Ferguson, where an unarmed black teenager, Michael Brown, was shot and killed by police on August 9."

For the complete article, click here.  

Subject Guide

Vivian Shen's picture
Vivian Shen
Contact:
Walsh Library, Rose Hill Campus
Special Collections, 4th floor

shen@fordham.edu
718.817.3561

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 

library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ 
Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)