Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Researching Northern Ireland
This page covers a selection of resources covering the conflict in Northern Ireland known as "The Troubles."
If you have questions about locating primary sources or other information, please reach out to the library liaisons to Irish Studies to book a research consultation.
Conflict in Northern Ireland : An Encyclopedia by
Call number [RH and LC Reference Area] DA990.U46 E44 1999
Historical Dictionary of the Northern Ireland Conflict by
Scarecrow Press, 2008.
Call number [RH Reference Area] DA990.U46 G545 2008
Free Derry Wall
Image credit: Free Derry Wall with murals of the Bogside Artists in background circa 2010 by Tony Crowley via Claremont Colleges Library.
A Chronology of the Conflict - 1968 to the Present
Chronologies of key events and issues from the CAIN Web Service.
Government of Ireland Act,1920
Created "Northern Ireland" and "Southern Ireland" with the intention of establishing "home rule" institutions for each subdivision under the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland.
Anglo-Irish Treaty of 1921
Signed by the British and Irish delegations in London establishing the Irish Free State (now the Republic of Ireland).
Anglo-Irish Agreement 1985
Treaty between the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland aiming to bring an end to The Troubles.
Joint Declaration 1993
A charter for peace and reconciliation also known at the Joint Declaration on Peace or the Downing Street Declaration.
The Belfast Agreement 1998
Also known as the Good Friday Agreement, this peace agreement between the British and Irish governments helped to bring to an end the Troubles.
ProQuest U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
Contains the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the House of Lords. Offers working government documents covering the history of Britain and the UK, its colonies, and all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy.
Open Access Digital Collections & Archives
CAIN Web Service
A renowned resource from ARK at Ulster and Queen's University Belfast providing a wealth of information and source material on "The Troubles" and politics in Northern Ireland from 1968 to the present. Includes information about key events such as Bloody Sunday, the Hunger Strikes, along with documents, images, timelines, bibliographies, maps, and much more.
Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission (NIHRC)
Independent public body established through the Good Friday Agreement to promote human rights awareness through education, training and research as well as treaty monitoring and advising on legal cases.
Digital Collections at the National Museums Northern Ireland
Search and browse page for digitized collection items at the National Museums Northern Ireland in Art, History, and Natural Sciences.
Accounts of the Conflict
A digital archive of personal accounts from the International Conflict Research Institute (INCORE) at Ulster University with the majority of accounts collected by community-based organisations and projects across Northern Ireland and beyond.
The Bloody Sunday Inquiry
Offers access to the full report and transcripts from the Bloody Sunday Inquiry tribunal, also known as the Saville Inquiry or the Saville Report. Initiated by Prime Minister Tony Blair in 1998, this inquiry concluded in 2010 with a published report.
Murals of Northern Ireland
Images of murals in Northern Ireland (Nationalist, Republican, Unionist, Loyalist, etc) painted during the Troubles and the post-conflict period (1979-2014) captured by Dr. Tony Crowley available through the Claremont Colleges Digital Library.
Prison Memory Archive
An inclusive collection of walk-and-talk recordings with those who had a connection with Armagh Gaol and Maze and Long Kesh during the conflict in Northern Ireland / the North of Ireland.
ARK (Access Research Knowledge)
Established in 2000 by researchers at Queen’s University Belfast and Ulster University, its primary goal is to increase the accessibility and use of academic data and research. Provides access to surveys, research publications, archival material on the conflict, election results, teaching resources, and more.
Clinton Digital Library
Providing access to the digitized collections of the William J. Clinton Presidential Library & Museum. Search the collections for documents about the Northern Ireland Peace Process.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
email@example.com ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)