Hudson River: Introduction

"The Hudson River...connects America's past with its present and future. [The items in this guide] trace the course of the river through...recounting the stories of explorers and traders, artists and writers, entrepreneurs and industrialists, ecologists and preservationists--those who have been shaped by the river as well as those who have helped shape it."

--Description provided by Syndetics (Bowker), for The Hudson: A History by Tom Lewis

The Hudson River collection at Fordham Libraries includes a comprehensive span of topics that weave through all subject areas and encompasses print, video, and electronic formats.

Examples of Subjects in the Print Collection

• river tide data
• writings from the Washington Irving collection
• Hudson River School of landscape painting
• hiking and waterfall guides and handbooks
• history of the Hudson Valley region
• railroads and sloops in the Hudson Valley 
• Hudson River mansions 
• restoring watersheds 
• wineries of the region 
• fish of the mid-Hudson River estuary

Video/DVD Collection

• Hudson River and its painters
• Hudson River Valley estates
• Clearwater sloop

Hudson River periodicals 

• Hudson River Almanac
• Boating on the Hudson and Beyond
• Hudson Valley Regional Review
• Salmagundi

• Located in New York State (the legal border with the state of New Jersey).
• River runs a length of 315 miles, from its start at Lake Tear of the Clouds to New York City.
• Named for English explorer Henry Hudson.
• Much of the "river" is actually an estuary.
• Contains salt water from New York City to Poughkeepsie.
• Contains fresh water north to Lake Tear of the Clouds.
• The Erie Canal connects the Hudson River west to Lake Erie.

The general call number for the Hudson River is: F127.H8

The numbers will differ depending on the subject area where the book is located, e.g.

• Hudson River in literature
• Hudson River in industry
• Hudson River in art

Use Hudson River plus your sub-topic.

  Examples:

    Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.) bridges

    Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.) boats and boating

Additional Subject Headings:

Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.)

United States-New York (State)--Hudson River

Hudson-Fulton Celebration, 1909

Hudson-Fulton Celebration, 2009 (Quadricentennial)

Hudson River Estuary (N.Y. and N.J.)

Hudson River Greenway (N.Y.)

Hudson River Highlands (N.Y.)

Hudson River School of Art

Hudson River School of Landscape Painting

Hudson River Shore Trail (N.J. and N.Y.)

Hudson River Valley (N.Y. and N.J.)

Hudson Palisades (N.J. and N.Y.)

Hudson Valley (N.Y. and N.J.)