Research Guides @ Fordham: History of Medicine: Finding Scholarly Articles

Searching for an Article From A Citation

Not sure how to find the full tex of an article if you have a citation? Let's pretend you are looking for the article with the following citation:

Fissell, Mary E. "Introduction: Women, Health, and Healing in Early Modern Europe." Bulletin of the History of Medicine, vol. 82, no. 4, 2008, pp. 1-17.

The name of the article is "Introduction: Women, Health, and Healing in Early Modern Europe."

The name of the journal where the article was published is Bulletin of the History of Medicine.

The article was published in 2008 in volume 82, issue number 4 of Bulletin of the History of Medicine.

Once you understand the pieces of the citation, watch this video to learn how to search for periodicals (journals, newspapers, magazines, etc.) in Fordham's library catalog.

Research Help

Not finding the information you need?

Chat live with a real, human librarian to get help.

Selected Journals

Medical History
From 1957 to present.
Bulletin of the History of Medicine
From 1996 to present.
Social History of Medicine
From 2009 to 2014.
Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences
From 1996 to present.

Bibliographies & Indexes

Feminae: Medieval women and gender index This link opens in a new window
Index covering journal articles, book reviews and essays in books about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages.
International Medieval Bibliography & Bibliographie de Civilization Medievale This link opens in a new window
Contains over 350,000 records of journal articles and books related to the Middle Ages published since 1967.

Finding Articles with Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index to history of U.S. and Canada comprising nearly 2,000 journals since 1910.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts for hundreds of journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
JSTOR & ARTSTOR (WITH AI RESEARCH TOOL - BETA) This link opens in a new window
Archive of hundreds of academic journals across disciplines in full text format.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. No access to books. Additional features available with the creation of a personal account.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971

History of Medicine: Finding Scholarly Articles

Searching for an Article From A Citation

Research Help

Selected Journals

Bibliographies & Indexes

Finding Articles with Databases

Reference & Instruction Department