History of Medicine: Finding Books

► OneSearch (EBSCO Discovery Service) aggregates books Fordham owns plus some articles from databases. It also includes bibliographic records for content that Fordham does not own.

► Understanding Limiters in OneSearch

• Limiters are the options on the left that allow users to limit their search by specific criteria.
• This box focuses on the options to limit to Full Text, Catalog Only, and Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals.

• Selecting Catalog Only shows print and electronic books plus journal titles by subscription (not articles).
  • Use the Library Catalog to search for the most recent books and journals acquired by Fordham Libraries. (There can be a delay between the catalog and OneSearch.)

• Checking Full Text limits to electronic books and articles Fordham owns or subscribes to that are available through EBSCO Discovery Service; it will suppress records for print items.

• Checking Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals will limit article results to electronic items from peer review journals only; it will suppress records from print and electronic books (even if those books went through peer review).

Beware: these limiters will not always work together and can cancel each other out:

• Catalog Only will not work if Full Text or Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals is checked.

• Full Text can be checked at the same time as Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals.

► Not having any luck with OneSearch? Look to the right side of your screen and select the option to continue your search in All ProQuest databases:

Adjust the search field drop down menu to SU Subject Terms and use the Library of Congress Subject Headings below to find additional resources under the same subject.

 

 

Health and race--Southern States--History.

 

Human experimentation in medicine--Moral and ethical aspects.

 

Materia medica, Vegetable.

 

Medical ethics.

 

Medicine, Ancient.

 

Medicine, Arab.

 

Medicine, Chinese--History.

Medicine, Greek and Roman.

 

Medicine--History.

 

Medicine, Medieval.

 

Medicine, Medieval--England

 

Medicine, Military--History.

 

Medicine--United States--History.

 

Public health--United States--History.

 

Tropical medicine.