Research Guides @ Fordham: HIV/AIDS: Protest &amp; Activism

Digital Collections & Archives

Digital Collections

ACT UP Oral History Project
Primarily offers transcripts of oral history interviews.
Interactive AIDS Memorial Quilt
Provides images of the quilt and additional background information.
Gran Fury Collection at NYPL
Digital collection offers posters, stickers, fliers, print ads, billboards and bus signs, photograph and slide reproductions, and more.
AIDS Education Posters Collection
Digitized materials donated beginning in 2007 to the University of Rochester’s River Campus Libraries by Dr. Edward C. Atwater (1926-2019).

Archival Collections

Gay and Lesbian Collections & AIDS/HIV Collections at NYPL
Browse the list of over 100 collections pertaining to the history and culture of gay men and lesbians and the history of the AIDS/HIV epidemic held at the Manuscripts and Archives Division of the New York Public Library.

The library catalog will list items on VHS & DVD. For streaming options of HIV/AIDS documentaries, search the following databases for options:

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
More than 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas and curated for the educational experience.
Should you get an error page when trying to access content on-campus or remotely, clear cache / cookies and / or try a different browser that has been cleared of cache / cookies.

Additional Streaming Databases
Check this list for additional streaming databases.

Let the Record Show : A Political History of ACT UP New York, 1987-1993 by Sarah Schulman
Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2021.
Call number [RH & LC Stacks] RA644.A25 S3633 2021
How to Survive a Plague : The Inside Story of How Citizens and Science Tamed AIDS by David France
Alfred A. Knopf, 2016.
Call number [LC & RH Stacks] RA643.84.N7 F73 2016
Mobilizing New York [electronic resource] : AIDS, Antipoverty, and Feminist Activism by Tamar W. Carroll
University of North Carolina Press, 2015.

It Was Vulgar and It Was Beautiful : How AIDS Activists Used Art to Fight a Pandemic by Jack Lowery
Bold Type Books, 2022.
Call number [LC & RH Stacks] RA643.75 .L69 2022
After Silence [electronic resource] : A History of AIDS through Its Images by Avram Finkelstein
University of California Press, 2018.
Remembering the AIDS Quilt [electronic resource] by Charles E. Morris (Editor)
Michigan State University Press, 2011.
Call number [RH Stacks] NX180.A36 R46 2011
AIDS, Social Change and Theater : Performance as Protest
Garland Pub., 1995.
Call number [RH Stacks & QuinnX] NX180.A36 K57 1995
The Art of AIDS by Rob Baker
Continuum, 1994.
Call number [RH Stacks & QuinnX] NX180.A36 B35 1994
A Leap in the Dark : AIDS, Art, and Contemporary Cultures by Allan Klusacek; Ken Morrison (eds)
Véhicule Press, 1992.
Call number [RH Stacks] NX180.A36 L4 1992