Research Guides @ Fordham: COMC 2277: Media &amp; Sexuality (Prof. Moorman): Film & Video Collections

Libraries & Access

Fordham is only able to get access to select films, videos, and television programs.

Libraries are unable to get licenses to recent films or series on commercial streaming platforms like Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, Apple TV+, (HBO) Max, etc.

Film & Video Collections by Subscription

Individual records for film & video titles available in streaming format are not listed in the library catalog at the moment.

To see if Fordham has access to a streaming film or television program, you will need to search the databases below.

► Use the Library Catalog to search for film & TV options on DVD.

Walsh Library offers (1) workstation with a DVD player and headphones.

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
More than 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas and curated for the educational experience.
Should you get an error page when trying to access content on-campus or remotely, clear cache / cookies and / or try a different browser that has been cleared of cache / cookies.
Swank Motion Pictures Streaming Video Database This link opens in a new window
A collection of 500 films covering many subjects. Avoid using Safari browser with PCs.
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
Thousands of videos of movies, documentaries, foreign films and more. Click more... to see current browser & technical issues.
CURRENT PROBLEM REPORTED WITH USING FIREFOX. CHROME AND OPERA WORKING NORMALLY.
AVOID USING MAC w/FIREFOX FOR ALL STREAMING VIDEOS (NEEDS SEPARATE FLASH DOWNLOAD).
DO NOT USE INTERNET EXPLORER
See also our new streaming video database, Academic Video Online, located on the A tab and Videos & Multimedia tab.
REMOTE USERS - NEW PROVIDER REQUIREMENTS: You may be prompted to authenticate via LOG IN TO FORDHAM button on left side of screen; on next screen you will be prompted to click LOG IN TO FORDHAM button again; click SKIP when prompted to create an account.

Requesting films inside Kanopy: Search inside Kanopy to see if Fordham currently has access to the item you need. Your search results will show items "In Collection" where Fordham currently pays for a license, and additional items under "Request Access." For items marked as "Request Access", Fordham faculty can complete the online form to request the library acquire a license to the film/video.

Docuseek On-Demand Videos This link opens in a new window
Access only to special-order videos with varying expiration dates. For any questions, contact Betty Garity (garity@fordham.edu). Click on Browse to see licensed titles.
CBS News 60 MINUTES This link opens in a new window
Offers transcripts and nearly 500 hours of video from 1997–2014 via ProQuest.

COMC 2277: Media & Sexuality (Prof. Moorman): Film & Video Collections

Libraries & Access

Film & Video Collections by Subscription

Reference & Instruction Department