COMC 2277: Media & Sexuality (Prof. Moorman): OneSearch Tips

► OneSearch (EBSCO Discovery Service) aggregates books Fordham owns plus some articles from databases. It also includes bibliographic records for content that Fordham does not own.

► Understanding Limiters in OneSearch

• Limiters are the options on the left that allow users to limit their search by specific criteria.
• This box focuses on the options to limit to Full Text, Catalog Only, and Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals.

• Selecting Catalog Only shows print and electronic books plus journal titles by subscription (not articles).
  • Use the Library Catalog to search for the most recent books and journals acquired by Fordham Libraries. (There can be a delay between the catalog and OneSearch.)

• Checking Full Text limits to electronic books and articles Fordham owns or subscribes to that are available through EBSCO Discovery Service; it will suppress records for print items.

• Checking Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals will limit article results to electronic items from peer review journals only; it will suppress records from print and electronic books (even if those books went through peer review).

Beware: these limiters will not always work together and can cancel each other out:

• Catalog Only will not work if Full Text or Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals is checked.

• Full Text can be checked at the same time as Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals.

► Not having any luck with OneSearch? Look to the right side of your screen and select the option to continue your search in All ProQuest databases:

Fordham Libraries offers access to scholarly books on single subjects and edited volumes where many scholars contribute chapters on a theme. This section shows how to help determine if a film, media, or performance studies book you want to use in your paper is peer reviewed:

  Look for books published by university presses since they are peer reviewed:

  Commercial academic presses like Routledge/The Taylor & Francis Group, Bloomsbury Academic, or Palgrave Macmillan also publish peer reviewed books:

If you are unsure about a book or its publisher, ask your professor for her opinion or contact the librarian assigned to this class to help evaluate.