Research Guides @ Fordham: Addiction: Find Articles

Articles & Databases

This page highlights resources for finding articles and using databases at Fordham University Libraries.

A periodical is a journal, magazine or newspaper published regularly on a schedule. Researchers can look up periodicals individually or search on a topic across many periodicals through a database.

Library databases may contain a combination of peer-reviewed articles as well as reports, book reviews, opinion pieces, datasets, images, videos, archival content, and more.

Unsure about the different kinds of articles? Popular versus scholarly? Peer-reviewed? Try this short tutorial from the library covering Articles & Databases to learn more or refresh your memory.

If you are unsure about how to find something you need, feel free to Ask a Librarian to point you in the right direction.

Selected Databases

Below are selected databases related to Addiction. Databases in several subject areas may be relevant. See the databases strongest in specific subjects via the Databases tab on the library homepage.

Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full text of many articles from health and fitness magazines, medical periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Formerly Health Reference Center Academic.
Health Source: Nursing (Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
Full text and abstracts for health journals focusing on many medical topics, especially nursing and drugs.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects, including Social Work. Citations are linked to full text when available.
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and Indexing to serial and book literature in psychology since 1840. On EBSCOhost platform.
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, and other resources. MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed. Citations may include links to full-text content in PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). MEDLINE Citations are included in OneSearch. For more information, see NIH Resources Guide.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of hundreds of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to the literature on sociology including journals, books, and conference papers.

Selected Peer-Reviewed Journals

Looking for a specific journal? Use the E-Journals tab (for electronic journals only):

or search the Library Catalog using the Periodical Title line:

Addiction: Find Articles

Articles & Databases

Selected Databases

Selected Peer-Reviewed Journals

Reference & Instruction Department