Research Guides @ Fordham: Visual Arts: Film & Video

Suggested Books

The Complete Film Production Handbook by Eve Light Honthaner
Burlington, MA: Focal Press, 2010.
Electronic resource; authentication is required.
Film: A Critical Introduction by Maria Pramaggiore
London : Laurence King Publishing, 2020.
Electronic resource; authentication is required.
A Short Guide to Writing about Film by Timothy Corrigan
Call Number: (RH) PN1995 .C66 2015

Boston: Pearson, 2015.

Suggested Databases

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
A comprehensive index of full-text and bibliographic coverage of hundreds of publications on film and television with links to full text.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database
A bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present. Many of the key titles are available in full text, including complete runs.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Index with full text of hundreds of journals and other sources.

Film & Television Research Guide

Find more suggested resources in the Film & Television Studies Research Guide.

Streaming Films

The library subscribes to several streaming film platforms. See the Databases guide for a full list.

Below are two platforms for popular films.

Kanopy Streaming Videos
Thousands of videos of movies, documentaries, foreign films and more.
CURRENT PROBLEM REPORTED WITH USING FIREFOX. CHROME AND OPERA WORKING NORMALLY.
AVOID USING MAC w/FIREFOX FOR ALL STREAMING VIDEOS (NEEDS SEPARATE FLASH DOWNLOAD).
DO NOT USE INTERNET EXPLORER
See also our new streaming video database, Academic Video Online, located on the A tab and Videos & Multimedia tab.
REMOTE USERS - NEW PROVIDER REQUIREMENTS: You may be prompted to authenticate via LOG IN TO FORDHAM button on left side of screen; on next screen you will be prompted to click LOG IN TO FORDHAM button again; click SKIP when prompted to create an account.
Swank Motion Pictures Streaming Video Database
A collection of hundreds of films covering many subjects.

Select Journals

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)