Open Access: OA Resources

Open access books relevant to the study and practice of theological librarianship.

First 100-title collection of this academic alliance centers on Gender and Sexuality studies. Hosted on the Project MUSE Open platform.

Hundreds of OA Ebooks covering a variety of subject areas.

Growing collection of Open Access Ebook titles.

Hundreds of open access books covering a wide range of subjects. Look for the green icon for available content. NOTE: When using the search feature, check off the 3 limiters on the left: Subscribed; Free; Open Access. 

Biographies of important Canadians who died between the years 1000 and 1930.

A growing open portal of various digitized collections that draw on the nation’s living heritage from libraries, universities, archives, and museums. Includes items from the Government Printing Office's Catalog of Publications and the Medical Heritage Library research collection.

Thousands of academic, peer-reviewed books from hundreds of publishers. NOTE: Some books have partial content only.

Electronic text editions of Evans Early American Imprints. Full text searchable. See Text Creation Partnership for more information.

Electronic text editions of Early English Books Online. Full text searchable. See Text Creation Partnership for more information.

Electronic text editions of Eighteenth Century Collections Online. Full text searchable. See Text Creation Partnership for more information.

Covers many aspects of law, social policy, education, business. and more. Titles with the yellow dots only.

Over 1,000 Open Access ebooks covering a wide range of subjects.

Collection of out-of-print books in the humanities. Download in EPUB or Mobi format.

An electronic archive of American poetry prior to 1920. Created by the University of Michigan.

Thousands of monographs across the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Use limiter on left side to find OA Titles. Thanks to the support of libraries, MIT Press will publish its full list of 2022 and 2023 scholarly monographs and edited collections OA.

High quality OA books, mainly in Humanities and Social Sciences.

Please be aware when using Oxford's AI Discovery Assistant, as some results lead to paywalled content. 

Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity.

Offers thousands of free high quality ebooks.

Archive of rare books, manuscripts, and images,9th-20th centuries, at PENN Library's collections.

Offering of books in a wide range of areas within science, technology and medicine (STM).

Over one thousand books in many subject areas.

The Association of American Universities, Association of Research Libraries, and Association of University Presses (including Fordham Press) initiative to promote humanities and social sciences scholarship.

Luminos is University of California Press’s Open Access publishing program for monographs.

Hundreds of newspapers published from U.S. prisons combined into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. On the JSTOR platform.

A project of the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA) to provide enduring global access to Catholic research resources. Contains almost 90 years of The Catholic Worker, 50+ years of The Catholic Telegraph (Cincinnati), 20+ years of The Catholic Transcript (Hartford), and more. Click on "Titles" to see entire archive. Some content of The Catholic Worker is included in JSTOR Open Community Collections.

The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. Created and administered by the Northern New York Library Network in partnership with the Empire State Library Network.

Content for 16 journals is OA beginning 2020 or later. Continued access is not guaranteed.

Several hundred peer-reviewed open access journals covering Science, Technology and Medicine subject areas from Springer Science+Business Media.

Growing list of Open Access journals from Brill. Look for the green icon for available content. NOTE: When using the search feature, check off the 3 limiters on the left: Subscribed; Free; Open Access. 

Open Ejournals and Ebooks in a variety of subject areas.

A not-for-profit joint venture between leading academic publishers & research libraries to build a dark archive to ensure the long-term survival of Web-based scholarly publications. Content no longer available from any publisher (triggered content) is available for free.

Leading publisher of open access scientific content with nearly 400 scholarly journals across all major disciplines.

Full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals covering all topics.
NOTE: Some content may not be freely available.

Fifty Open Access journals covering a wide range of subjects.

Fully open access journals from IEEE spanning a wide range of technologies.

Over 30 key online journals fully Open Access.

Searchable gateway of open access journals for every biomedical discipline.

Now hosted on Hathi Trust, the Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

A collaborative effort between the University of Michigan and Cornell University, these two institutions developed a thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

OA journal from Nature.com publishing in all areas of life, health, social, physical, chemical and earth sciences.

Authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.

Complete holdings of selected math and statistics journals from a variety of publishers.

A non-profit organization dedicated to making scientific literature freely available across all areas of science and medicine.

A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies. Compiled from thousands of periodicals and collections of articles in many languages mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.

Open journal with high-quality peer-reviewed original research. Covers the entire range of science and mathematics. See new section called "Science, Society, and Policy" for published work that sits at the interface of Science, Society, and Policy.

All articles published in the journals provide worldwide, barrier-free access to the full-text of articles online, immediately on publication under a creative commons license.

Hundreds of free journals from Elsevier's ScienceDirect platform.

Hundreds of free peer-reviewed journals from Springer, across all areas of science.

Taylor & Francis and Routledge currently publish a number of pure open access journals. The articles in these journals receive both rigorous peer review and expedited online publication.

Over fifty health, medicine and science Open Access titles. Make sure the Open Access filter remains selected. Chrome browser recommended.

Collabra is University of California Press's open access journal program. The Collabra program currently publishes Collabra: Psychology and Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene, with plans for continued expansion and journal acquistion.

Wiley's fully open access journals are immediately freely available to read, download and share. The fully open access journals are published in collaboration with authoritative journals.
To access content, choose "Journal Information" under the relevant title.

Open access, free, preprints across agriculture and allied sciences.

Comprehensive database on international development finance and foreign aid, accompanied by a variety of innovative web-based applications for data analysis.

A full-text, open archive and distribution server for theoretical and applied scientific research papers. Hosted by Cornell University. Coverage 1991 to the present.

Full texts of Spanish books in the public domain.

A collaboration between university presses and libraries of the Big Ten Academic Alliance. Two collections, the first centers on Gender and Sexuality studies and the second centers on Indigenous North Americans. (Use filters on left side to access other OA content on the platform.)

Digitized books, journals, images and collections from a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries creating a global “biodiversity commons” of significant biodiversity materials. Includes the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.

Free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is hosted by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory,

Select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Supports a wide range of students and researchers exploring the ongoing racial injustice in the U.S. and movements such as Black Lives Matter. Time period covered: 1790-present.

From Boston Children’s Hospital, research projects examining interactive media technologies and impact on overall health.

Free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas.

A free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 25 million structures, properties and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from more than 400 data sources, it enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. Owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Gateway to 60 national and research libraries of Europe including the British Library, the Bibliotheque Nationale Francaise, Deutsche Bibliotek and many others.

Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context and solutions-oriented points of view for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness. From EBSCO.

Index covering journal articles, book reviews and essays in books about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages.

Access to New York consolidated and unconsolidated laws, court acts and rules.

Online archive of IMF publications, dating back to 1946. Content includes Books and Analytical Papers, Notes and Manuals, Official Reports, Documents, and Periodicals. Information such as statistical data, blogs, podcasts, videos, country information, and additional databases can be found from the IMF Sites button at the top right of any page.

Economic statistics for all countries compiled by the IMF. Thousands of time series on THE IFS Country Pages and World Tables. Also, International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payments, Direction of Trade, Government Finance Statistics, and more. CLICK ON MORE FOR REGISTRATION & LOGIN INFORMATION.

More than 175 years of Southern Baptist history in a growing archive that reveals mission activity across the globe. Includes periodicals, biographies, log books, photographs and more. Also includes the African-American Heritage Collection.

Non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Open Access content in a variety of formats. Search for Ebooks, E-Journals, Images and Special Collections hosted on JSTOR & Artstor all freely available to access.

Explore collections of images and primary sources from libraries, museums, and archives around the world. Includes Fordham University collections. Includes most volumes of The Catholic Worker.

Free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences.

Provides open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs.

A wide variety of unique online projects from the New York Public Library, including the Staten Island Historical Newspapers and Music Theater digital archive.

International library consortium with the sole mission of advancing open access to research in academic journals across the humanities disciplines. All academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review.

Online archive of more than 1500 hours of audio and video recordings featuring the world’s foremost writers, intellectuals, and artists in candid and often heated discourse about the most relevant cultural and political issues of our times. Dates back to 1966.

Designed to aid in the study and analysis of Greek and Roman literature, it includes full texts (in English and original language), a word study tool, links from text to maps, footnotes and definitions. Hosted by Tufts University.

Reports from all over the world on population trends, health, and the environment.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (Open access). Full text graduate works available for free download to all users with Internet access.