Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is the Marrakesh Treaty Implementation Act?
Marrakesh Treaty Guidelines
The Act clarifies who is covered under the new amendment including:
- Someone who is blind
- Someone with a "visual impairment or perceptual or reading disability" which makes them unable to read printed words "to substantially the same degree as a person without an impairment or disability."
- Someone with a physical disability making them unable to hold or manipulate a book or focus or move their eyes to read.
In order to be an "eligible person" the condition must be "determined by a competent authority possessing experience in making such determination."
While only three, broad condition are listed in the law, many organizations provide their services to those whose disability may fall outside of the listed conditions.
The disability does not have to be permanent. Temporary disabilities can benefit from the Act as long as the condition persists.
The Marrakesh Act does not mandate that all organizations and/or institutions provide accessible formats.
The formats these materials can be provided in can be any form that "allows an eligible person to have access to a work that is equivalent to a person without a disability." It is no longer limited to braille or audio recordings.
Fordham University Disability Services Office
For more information about Fordham's Disability Services, please email firstname.lastname@example.org or see below for the location of your campus' office below. More information can be found here on the Disability Services website.
When implementing the Marrakesh Act, please make sure you abide by the following rules:
- Only serve eligible persons
- Limit distribution of the accessible format to those eligible persons
- Discourage any further reproductions and distribution of the material
- Be conscious of handling copies of the works and recording copies of the works created by the authorized entity.
- Respect the privacy of the eligible persons
- Make the titles of the accessible format materials publicly available
- Make information on policies and practices, as well as overseas authorized partners publicly available
Works Covered Under Treaty:
- Musical scores
Works Not Covered Under Treaty:
- Audio-visual works
- Television programs
- Live theater productions
A project supported by the United States Department of Education. This resources is available to anyone in the world that has a print disability and free for qualifying students within the U.S. It allows users to tailor their experience to best fit their learning style and needs.
The Chafee Amendment is the other provision in copyright law that provides more support for people with disabilities. However, this amendment was created in 1996 and has significant limitations. Read more about it at the Library of Congress.
HathiTrust Print Disability Service
This page provides more information on how to access HathiTrust, in-copyright materials using their print disability service.
Internet Archive Books for People with Print Disabilities Collection
This collection contains a number of books that are available to those with print disabilities.
New York Public Library Accessible Books & More for People with Print Disabilities
These resources are available for those who reside in New York City and Long Island. It includes Bookshare and the Andrew Heiskell Library. The Andrew Heiskell Library provides free services for those with print disabilities. This includes, but is not limited to, access to over 50,000 talking books that are mailed to your home; subscription access to audio magazines; downloadable access to books with no waiting periods; and more...
Understanding the Marrakesh Treaty Implementation Act
This resources is published by the United States Copyright Office. It explains the legal side of the Marrakesh Treaty.
Circulation & Reserve Departments
Circulation & Reserve Departments
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-5109 ♦ 718-817-3578
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6062 ♦ 212-636-6061
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3060 ♦ 914-367-3061
email@example.com ♦ firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ email@example.com