Research Guides @ Fordham: CMGB7500 Media Systems and Markets: Find Industry Research

What are Industry Codes?

U.S. Department of Commerce - Census - NAICS Code Lookup
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Industry classification codes organize companies into industrial groupings based on similar production processes, similar products, or similar behavior in financial markets. The two most-used systems in the United States are NAICS and SIC although there are others. Upon entering such a code, many business databases provide a list of companies within that code thereby defining a market. Here is a partial list of media codes as an example:

518210 Media Streaming Services
541830 Media Buying Services
541830 Media Buying Agencies
541840 Television advertising representativees (i.e. independent of media owners)
541840 Radio advertising representatives (i.e. independent of media owners)
541840 Newspaper advertising representatives (i.e. independent of media owners)

U.S. Department of Labor - OSHA - SIC Code Lookup
This page allows the user to search the 1987 version SIC manual by keyword, to access descriptive information for a specified 2,3,4-digit SIC, and to examine the manual structure.

Industry Rankings

Business Insights: Gale Business Insights

Research and analyze worldwide companies and industries. Extensive reference content from scholarly journals, news, market research reports, market share reporter, SWOT reports and more.

Access the Business Rankings Annual through the Business Insights database.

Reference Books on the Subject of Industry Coverage in the Fordham Library

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (2012) by Leo Troy
Call Number: (LC, WC) HF5681.R25 T7

Chicago, IL: CCH.
Encyclopedia of American Industries [electronic resource]
Publication Date: 2011

Detroit, Mich. : Gale, c2011.
Encyclopedia of Associations. National Organizations of the U.S. [electronic resource] by Thomson Gale
[United States] : Thomson Gale, 52nd edition.
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries by Donohue Group Inc (Prepared for Publication by)
Call Number: (RH) Ref.+HC102 .E54 2007

Millerton, NY : Grey House Publishing, c2007.

Industry Statistics

Business Research Guide Page on Industry Statistics

Find Media Industry Reports in Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete

Full text for thousands of journals and other sources. Covers business, economics, management, accounting, etc.

Find MartketLine industry reports on the media industry, broadcasting and cable and market research in different countries in the Business Source Complete database.

S&P Net Advantage: Link to Industry Reports

Industry Reports from NetAdvantage

Sample of Industry Journals and Trade Magazines Available in the Fordham Library

Access to these and other publications may be found on the Fordham Library website (https://www.fordham.edu/library) by entering the title or subject under "Quick Search" in the "Electronic Books and Journals" search box.

Advertising Age
Broadcasting & Cable
Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly
Telecommunications Weekly

U.S. Census - Economic Census

U.S. Census - Economic Census
The Economic Census profiles American business every 5 years, from the national to the local level.

Business Databases - Company & Industry

ABI/INFORM Collection
Full text of articles on business, finance, economics - 1971 - present. Offers industry, market research reports and forecasts (Business Monitor and First Research), commodity reports, prices and forecasts (EIU (some) and Oxford Economics) and country reports and forecasts (EIU, Oxford Analytics and Oxford Economics.
Business Insights: Gale Business Insights
Detailed information on foreign and domestic companies drawn from periodical articles, newspapers, press releases, etc.
•Hoover's Company Profiles Database of corporate information and industry analyses. Search by company name, location, industry, sales, or type.
Business Source Complete

Full text for thousands of journals and other sources. Covers business, economics, management, accounting, etc.
Corporate Affiliations
See Mergent Online
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Find the Encyclopedia of Global Industries, Encyclopedia of American Industries, Manufacturing & Distribution USA, 2013 and International Directory of Company Histories.
Investext (Discontinued - Access ends 12/31/24; Use S&P Global NetAdvantage and Gale Business Insights or contact GabelliIT@fordham.edu)

Available on MERGENT ONLINE under the INVESTEXT tab through 12/31/24. UseS&P Global NetAdvantage and Gale Business Insights. For advanced business research, SEE GABELLI ONLY RESEARCH GUIDE
Mergent Manuals (Archives)
Complete run of the Moody's/Mergent manuals. Covers corporate histories, properties, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and financial statements.

With the exception of the Municipal and Government, the database covers the following manuals: Industrial (1920-present), Public Utility (1914-present), OTC Industrial (1970-present), OTC Unlisted (1986-present), Transportation (1909-present), International (1981-present), Bank and Finance (1928-present).
Mergent Online (Access ENDS 6/30/25 - Use Mergent Market Atlas) (Investext Discontinued - Use S&P Global NetAdvantage, Gale Business Insights, or contact GabelliIT@fordham.edu )

INVESTEXT discontinued 12/31/24. For advanced business research, SEE GABELLI ONLY RESEARCH GUIDE
S&P Global NetAdvantage
Broad spectrum of industry and company analysis including S&P Industry Surveys, S&P Equity Research, and new “Markets” tab with drill downs to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 250,000 public companies. Downloading to Excel is only available page-by-page. There are only some Capital IQ functions in this NetAdvantage platform. Fordham Libraries does not subscribe to Capital IQ. See Gabelli Only research guide for Capital IQ access.
Value Line Research Center
Investment information and analysis.
Click sign out link when finished, 6 simultaneous users limit. Use Google Chrome for best results. CLEAR CACHE FOR REMOTE ACCESS.